Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars45
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£9.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2007
3 of Alan Bennett`s short plays including 2 of his favourite leading ladies , Dame Thora and Patricia Routledge. I had read the first two before , the third , a dialogue between himself and Dame Judi Dench was a stranger to me . This collection is classic Bennett at it`s very best -- a joy to listen to . Hopefully more of his early works will find their way onto disc soon.
0Comment118 of 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
Alan Bennett is the master of observation of the querkiness of people and situations. The 3 tales in the triple bill are wonderful examples of this, made even more enjoyable by the superb selection of the casts of these mini radio plays.
A joy to listen to.
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Three short stories written and adapted into mini plays by the author,Alan Bennett. Each play takes an unexpected turn of events which leave the listener thinking and amused by the outcome. I have listened to this disc several times and always enjoy.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This collection of three two-handers is as good as the two series of "Talking Heads", and stylistically in similar mould. As always, the plots have a twist in the tail, and the casting is perfect - all the actors are Bennett regulars, including Bennett himself. The first two stories, though with comic moments, have serious undertones of unfulfilled wishes and nostalgia (again typical Alan Bennett) whereas the last is pure black comedy.

Another gem from possibly the most literate and entertaining author in Britain today.
0Comment38 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
A trilogy of very amusing, poignant stories, starring Patricia Routledge, Judi Dench, Hugh Lloyd, Imelda Staunton, Thora Hird, Brian Wilde, and even the author himself, Alan Bennett. Many 'laugh out loud' moments and a tonic after a hard day's work!
0Comment32 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
I put it onto my Ipod and a flight never seemed so short. It not only gives you an excellent picture of the time but you also want to keep listening in order to find out what happens to all the characters. - And who could describe it better than Alan Bennet?
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
A good bargain : three Bennett pieces for the one price.
He's such a talented writer : and these stories are no exception,
with his usual humour,humility and acutely observed situations that we can all relate to.

Thankfully, though I'd ordered the CD late, the package arived early, in time to give as a gift.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
Thanks again Alan.
I don't feel worthy to review your stuff. I just listened to it and really, really enjoyed it. Cheers.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
What can you say about Alan Bennett? He just observes human life and reproduces all our idiosyncracies to perfection. It's on my iPod and I have listened to it several times. There are some wonderful moments - especially from Thora Hird, God bless her. Alan Bennett can make you laugh out loud one minute and cry the next. Don't miss it.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
I thought it was going to be read like a story, but it was acted out like a play, we listened to it in the car and my husband who's Christmas present really enjoyed it
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.