Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
62
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2009
Being a French tutor I've come across a lot of books for GCSE and this is the one I prefer. It is well designed and full of good tips. The "Quick Questions" sections (every 3 pages) are a good way to check what you know and what you need to review before going to the next section.

As this is a COMPLETE REVISION manual, it contains a lot of information and, although it is a great tool, it might be too much to take in if you open it one month before the exam. The sooner you start using it the better.
11 comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
This is a really good book to check you know all the basics for your French exam. It does not replace a teacher when it comes to more complex French structures but it has the basics on all the topics and exercises to practice.
I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
This is well set out and includes practically everything you need to revise for French GCSE. There are sections for the written, reading and listening sections, along with good topic and grammar sections. This is a revision text, though - so this is not the book for students who have not followed a structured course to build up knowledge. In addition, there is no consolidated vocabulary section; although a little old-fashioned, perhaps, there's no substitute for solid learning.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Seeking to revisit the French language, last seriously studied over sixty years ago, I chose this book and disc as probably my best hope. It has exceeded my expectations. I am happy to recommend it to learners of all ages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
Very comprensive coverage of the current curriculum with plenty of "test yourself" exercises plus Specimen exam questions, but it is essentially a REVISION book . Although it explains topics from an elementary base, it then covers the topic to exam level without progressive development, so don't buy it as a teaching text book. It is, as the title says, a REVISION book, and as such is excellent and the most widely available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This French Revision guide is absolutely great. As a student myself, it was awesome for having everything in it that you needed to know, including ALL the basics and the obvious stuff that a lot of guides miss out. So, I could revise everything.

The book also has exam-awareness, so it actually references 'this is what you need to know for the exam' or 'examiners LOVE asking about this so brush up on it.'

As always with CGP, a very entertaining and accessible format that has really helped engage me and motivate me to revise. Made learning French a lot more fun, and I also use it now because it just has those key things in it that at A-Level and above it is easy to forget. Fundamental tool for learning French, end of. Also, get a used copy! It's so much cheaper and mine came in great condition WITH the disc.
All in all, a fab buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Awesome book and it has so many different areas that it covers, it includes a CD which is really helpful for Listening practise. There is loads of Reading, Writing, Speaking and Role Play practice in the book as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
After a parents evening I was told by my daughters french teacher that this was a brilliant book to buy as it has loads of vocab and things they need for their GCSE. It comes with an audio cd in the back so they can check their pronunciation which is helpful.
The books are £15 pounds each which mounts up if you have to buy one for every subject so I got used ones - they do exactly the same thing and they are all in reasonable condition.
A great helpful guide to help get through exams!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Daughter finding this extremely helpful and were understanding in class wasn't great, they way these books explain, made it clear, a great purchase and we bought a few, so it wasn't cheap, but a good investment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2012
excellent value for money, including vocabulary and grammar. model essays, listening cd

make sure you buy the new gcse french version for the new gcse syllabus

i also advise people to buy the letts gcse french guide which again is excellent and perhaps better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)