Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars102
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2012
This book is nothing like the one I expected. My advice is this: approach with caution. Olly may be best known for his upbeat ska-inflected pop music and his successful collaborations with the likes of Flo Rida and Rizzle Kicks, but he is also a man of strange inclinatons and envelope-pushing scientific and medical research.

I genuinely imagined that this book would be a breezy, whistle-stop tour through Olly's early life and ascent to fame via the X-factor. I was frankly astonished to find an entire chapter devoted to his obsession, as a 13 year-old, with attaching a working, severed human hand to the chest of his pet Alsation, Mr Cooper. He ultimately failed in his quest, but Mr Cooper was gravely harmed in the course of the experiments. However, the flame of medical curiosity was lit in the belly of the young Murs and he goes on to describe the succession of bizarre experiments that shed light on the previously-inexplicable nickname 'The Dr Frankenstein of Pop'.

I purcased this book hoping to learn more about one of my favourite pop-stars and celebrities, wondering if there would be any insights into his flirtatious on-screen relationship with Caroline Flack. I now know the exact procedure for mummifying a live guinea pig.

Genuinely bizarre but oddly uplifting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
I defitnilly recommend this book to Olly Murs fans! I enjoyed reading about how he went on about his x-factor expirience and how he travelled around the world. When I got my kindle, my mum had already put it on my kindle as she knows i am a big olly fan;) I couldnt put it down all Christmas. I sat for hours reading and reading until i started to get a headache!:( Please buy and enjoy the behind the scenes expierience od Olly Murs:')
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Easy read! Insightful and interesting autobiography. Would recommend to anyone wanting something simple and fun to read over the summer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
As a big fan of Olly Murs it was inevitable that I would buy this and read it as soon as it was released and I am not disappointed.

It is split into 2 sections. The first half details Olly's story so far, from his experience as a contestant on Channel 4 show Deal Or No Deal to his numerous dead end jobs and his discovery of music as a saviour from self doubt and depression. It also touches upon the tense relationship between Olly and twin brother Ben, something which became apparent in the headlines after Olly shot to fame. Olly discusses in detail his journey through The X Factor (and his disappointment of being rejected numerous times before he finally made it) so even if you are not an "Olly Murs fan" per-say then this is an interesting read if you are considering entering The X Factor as it acts as a kind of bible on the whole experience (from the very first producer stages to the live shows.)

Throughout the book Olly is honest and open about his trials, failures and successes. It feels like he is sitting opposite you, pint in hand and talking about his life in a funny and engaging way but you also feel sympathy and his pain when he touches on the more emotional parts of his journey (such as splitting from his first true love to concentrate on music and like I said earlier the troubled relationship with his brother) but you also can't help but feel good for him when he finds his feet and succeeds.

The second half of the book is a glossy-paged portfolio of full colour and black and white photographs of Olly in different situations and also contains some more personal moments. So in essence this is perfect for Olly fans as it contains the best of both worlds, his story and lots of nice pictures.

A really engaging autobiography that is as nice and funny as the person telling the story. Olly, we salute you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Recommend this book especially if you're a fan of Olly Murs and want to know more about him. It was an ideal present for my sister as she is a big fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Saw olly on tour this year (2013) and thought he was a true entertainer and showman. I then got this book and read it in two days as it draws you in to the life of olly Murrs. The photos are a bonus to. I disagree with some book reports that say he went on to much about his x factor days I think it was a big part in his life and found it very interesting.if your a fan of olly murs buy this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Happy Days is ideal for a genuine Olly Murs fan,15 chapters of great stuff and stunning photographs beautifully taken included.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I bought this my girlfriend as a Xmas present. Great read, good pictures, a must read for Olly Murs Fans. Good value for money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Fantastic book could not put it down can't wait for the next one would encourage anyone to buy this book xxxx
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I love Olly Murs, so i knew from the start i would love this book, it is as though hes sat just chatting away to you in person, about his life and i loved that, hes a great guy and worked so very hard at his job and deserves all the happiness the world can offer him, the photos are a great bonus :-) Loved it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)