Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars299
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2014
This is great...me being a silver surfer finds computer jargon and new programs difficult so changing to Windows 8.1 was horrendous for me. This book and video has made life so much easier as the wording is easy to understand. I don't hesitate recommending this to everyone old or young...go for it!
0Comment50 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This edition of Windows, and being a pensioner, is so different to any other OS that this book is a lifeline.
Every aspect is explained in a one to one manner that I have had very few problems and I am working my way through and enjoying every moment.
0Comment23 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are new to Windows 8 or 8.1, the book will answer most of your questions and give you LOTS of helpful advice. The author is open and fair in his criticisms of Windows 8/8.1 and tells you how to get round most of its shortcomings and design errors. Without this book, Windows 8 could easily drive you NUTS, as your years of Windows skills and experience don't seem to work any more. Andy Rathbone shows that this impression is not the whole truth.

First, I quickly learned how to avoid the tiled Start screen nearly all the time, and that's vital to know if you are using a desktop PC and mouse rather than a touchscreen device, and want to work from the Windows desktop. Then I learned where things are -- so many important parts of Windows 8 are hidden. They are not hard to do, just hard to find.

This is one of the best Dummies books, avoiding the lame humour (humor) and long-windedness that spoils many of the titles. Got a new computer with Windows 8? Then I think it's worth spending a few more pounds on this book. Of course, this is meant for intelligent computer users, not techies or IT support staff.
0Comment30 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Excellent and detailed content, as I moved from Windows XP Pro to Windows 8.1 Pro, I found this made the transition seamless and refer to it daily.
0Comment28 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
The difference between a professional and a talented amateur shows. This author;s book is a masterpiece, Get out there and buy one.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Just bought a new laptop which came with Windows 8. After all the bad press I was rather worried about it, and all at sea after many years of using XP. This book has helped me to get to grips with the operating system and I now think it is not as bad as many reviewers make out. Very helpful guide.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
A great dip in and learn book that is not patronising. Written in a light hearted style that really is an essential guide to users who are new to Windows 8. I was happy with Windows and its incremental upgrades but Windows 8 offers much more than its predecessors and a useful guide, backed up by a highly watchable video guide, helps the user to maximise their ability to use the new functions and acquaint themselves with what Windows 8 has to offer.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Very useful to get the confidence to get started. However, once started found Windows 8.1 quite easy, and not as difficult as everyone said. But it is nice to have something to refer to should the going get tough at any point. Very clear and unambiguous
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Well written with clear instructions aimed at the not so computer literate/savvy. If getting Windows 8.1 get this book to work alongside it and it will help you get more from the OS rather than hating it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
The trouble with all these books is that they force you to read through a lot you do not want to know and do not answer questions to which you need answers.
11 comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.