Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars148
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2009
As a bloke who hasn't got any of the other Delia books but quite like her on the telly i thought this would be useful addition to the other Jamies, Nigellas and Wagamama books on the Kitchen Shelf.

I didnt realise quite how essential it would become - its now 'first choice' every time i turn to the kitchen shelf for advice on an old fave or want to try something new to impress my other half.

It feels like that trusted DIY manual you keep going back to time and again either just to dip into (like that nice boiled egg on the cover) or to study in detail - whether its a meal that youve done before and need a refresher or want to give it a bit of a twist; or if its something youve never cooked before and you want the guiding hand of someone who knows what theyre doing (and can explain exactly what to do in the real world!) to stop it all going horribly wrong.

Its like Delia's Bible - and you can't say fairer than that. Essential for any kitchen shelf and highly recommended.
33 comments|214 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
As a bloke who enjoys cooking but has missed out on ( or can't remember) the basics this book is great. It starts at the beginning and builds your confidence with inspirational recipes throughout. The quality of the recipes are spot on with clear directions and colour photos. As an in depth resource at this price it is invaluable. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
I have a collection of many cookbooks but Delia's Complete How to Cook Guide is by far the best. I love the illustrations, I really like to know how the recipes should look. The tips and information pages are really helpful too. All the recipes I have tried have all turned out brilliantly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book.
11 comment|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2009
I bought this for my sister who is a fairly new cook. She loves it and I have to say that I have asked for a copy for my birthday too! It includes the basics and lots of recipes to tempt even the most experienced cooks - a great buy!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
This book is a "must have" whatever your standard of skills in the kitchen from beginner to seasoned cook/chef, it is guarenteed to teach you something or give you ideas to improve. It would make a great gift for students on their way to uni too!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like Delia for basic common sense cooking. There is a lot of basic stuff in here that isn't easy to find anywhere else - such as how to poach an egg or make perfect jacket potatoes. There is also valuable information about different types of fruit and veg and the best way to cook them

This is a brilliant book just for browsing as well and the photographs are marvellous - you can almost taste and smell the food. The presentation of all the recipes is unfussy and simple. I really hate cookery books which show photographs of finished dishes with delicate drizzles of sauce round an artistically arranged heap of meat and vegetables.

With this book you know you will be able to reproduce what's in the photograph even if you've never used the recipe before. I know I'm going to get lots of enjoyment and marvellous meals out of this book. If I have a reservation it is its sheer size - which is large and heavy. I'm also not sure how long the binding will stand up to constant handling - but then cookery books in daily use are meant to look a little worn!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
Excellent book with easy to understand explanations of even the most mundane cookery practices. Recommended for beginners, but still suitable for seasoned cooks looking to try something new.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This cookbook will tell you absolutely everything you need to know in the kitchen. It is beautifully laid out, recipes are easy to follow and the photography is beautiful!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2009
Delia's complete how to cook lives up to its title.Here we have a combination of all her cookery books and does an excellent job of showing how to cook both with the beginner and the experienced.Every aspect of cookery is explained clearly and the recipes are set out so that the most nervous and inexperienced can manage them.This is a cookery book invaluable to the beginner and the experienced.Delia has triumphed yet again.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
My wife is an excellent cook anyway but since studying and using the recipes in this book she has had rave reviews about the quality of her cakes from friends and strangers who want to know the secret of her successDelia's How to Cook Book One
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)