Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
126
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2011
I only give 5 stars when a textbook serves you the A grade on the plate (or at least with all the means to reach it), this is one.
I can guarantee you that if you do every single question right you will not score below 90% in the exam. You may not get 100% even if you answer all the questions because you most likely dropped method marks, it happened to me and I scored 92%. Edexcel is known to be the easiest board to score an A in maths and this is also due to the excellent material they supply you with.
The book also contains a CD with questions walked through to the answers. On the other hand the textbook prepares you to each topic with "examples" on how to answer the new questions. Usually these examples use questions which are fairly easy to understand. The scope is for you to struggle when you get to the actual questions so that you keep stimulating your mind until you get it. Once you do understand it then you know that things look bright.
Past papers are not difficult at all once you have covered all the questions in the book.
22 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 August 2010
I am a teacher of another subject who wanted to teach Maths and came to these as the standard text.

Some have criticised the graphical layout; I'm actually 48 and I find it really lovely and a REALLY BIG HELP in following the text. In my opinion, the use of colour and layout are imaginative, to the point and a complete positive.

It wouldn't be, if the content wasn't so good; this is light-years ahead of the irrelevant, stuffy books we had when I did my A Level #^* years ago - the authors focus very clearly on the syllabus - not surprising considering who they are. There is everything you need to teach yourself here.

Living in the real world as I do, I can say that there's more than enough to save you from a bad teacher which may be a CRITICAL difference to you.

The CD includes a Solution Bank - this shows 1) Every Question in the Book 2) A Hint for each queston to get you started in answering it 3) A Worked Example of how to do each question. All together, this is an invaluable resource.

You may find that it doesn't work on your browser - it was designed for an earlier version of Internet Explorer and doesn't work on later versions of any browser. If you want to use Solution Bank, install Firefox, visit 'Youtube' and type 'Solution Bank Firefox' into the search box. You'll get very easy instructions on how to get it to work (you have to change one number in one place - not hard).

This was the easiest way to get it to work that I found.

Absolutely recommended.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
I wanted to learn A Level Maths in my own time & own pace. This book explains every aspect with step by step instructions in a thoroughly brilliant manner. The layout is beautiful too.

I would suggest to my fellow Amazonians to use the books in this series to grasp the basic concept of A Level Maths.

The traditional older A Level books seem to be too brief in the their explanations and as such not sufficient for self study.

This book breaks the mould by explaining the subject in an extremely understandable way!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2012
Top book well easy to read and straight forward examples and good questions it's simple and what you need for AsMaths. The Best thing is I should say the proffesional working out examples which really encourage you to do your best and never confuse you. From the image it looked like a fat book but no way near nice and handy for easy insert in bags etc. The Bonus is the ANSWERS are at the back honestly thats amazing most books require you going on A CD but not this one it's made by helpfull people plus it has a Live text CD which is usefull when using the computer and your fed up of the textbook my ratings - 10/10 top book buy asap
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 November 2014
This is the book you have to have if you're doing this module with Edexcel, so it's a relief that it's quite good. There are helpful summaries, good worked examples, and plenty of questions (including past exam questions).

I'm like them to be more explicit about how to write maths well, but that's missing in most books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
A-level maths consist of 4 core and 2 elect units. These edexcel books are all you need to go through the A-level in combination with online tutorial videos you can find on the internet (for free).

Practice makes perfect. But the bite size format makes the A-level mathematics course that much more approachable.

Best of luck to you all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
This official textbook does the job and does it well. There enough content in it to challenge you and if you manage to complete the entire book, you're guaranteed a great mark in the exam. It's just about getting the time to go through it all. Nonetheless, the Mixed Exercises, Review Exercises and examination style questions are useful revision tools.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
There are thorough explanations/method on how to answer the questions and there are many questions provided to reinforce and improve your understanding. Although, I wish that in the answers, they wrote how they worked it out, so you can compare on what you did right or wrong to achieve your answer to a question.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Like: used to self teach myself A-level maths and had clear instructions on how to solve the problems in each section
the CD is VERY useful as it does give you walkthroughs of how to do each question on the CD

Dislike: the worked examples in the book are only on the easy-medium difficulty questions and none on the harder ones but this can be solved by using other resources such as a website called exam solutions

Overall I think it is definitely worth buying
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Its a great book for the course and well, is contains the whole syllabus. But, in general its great! Also, good luck with your A-Level!! Also, make sure you buy the other two that you need for the AS.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)