Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars522
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2014
What an ideal lifestyle (though I am well aware it is not all rose tinted). This book portrays exactly how children should be allowed to develop. If only more of us could take an example from this book, far better child rearing advice than some more disciplinarian advisers! Please write more Amanda.
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
I couldn't put this down thoroughly enjoying Amanda Owen"s descriptions of life and work on a remote hill farm. She tells how life really is with humour and panache. The book is also an unabashed advert for large families pulling together as they used to, happy without the trappings of the consumer society. Do read and enjoy this book.
0Comment28 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Loved this book. Took me back to my childhood, of which the first 7 years were spent about 10 - 11 miles away from Ravenseat as the crow flies, north easterly. Wonderful descriptions of life as it is rarely lived now - but what way for children to learn! I read it on kindle, and follow Amanda on Twitter - such a pleasure!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
This is a wonderful book, I could not put it down.

Amanda has written from the heart, telling the inspiring story of her life, marriage to Clive and the arrival of there fantasic family.

What an inspiration to us all. I cannot wait for the next book.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
BRILLIANT BOOK great read .wonderful insight to the world of farming and bringing up a family. Hardworking and loyal to each other and to the animals and land.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Utterly absorbing and engaging - beautifully written insight to the real Yorkshire dales and a lovely family. Couldn't put it down!
0Comment20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Free range children indeed. What a wonderful childhood, not to mention education. The book kept me interested all the way through. Entertaining, informative & a lesson to the rest of us that there is an amazing world out there in our own countryside beyond the tv & internet.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
I read this book in 2 days - loved reading about Alison and Clive and their growing family in the wolds of Ravenseat. Alison's story shows both the highs and lows of farming and living in such a remote location.
Having seen Alison and Clive both on the Coast to Coast programme with Julia Bradbury and ITV's The Dales series presented by Ade Edmondson I was interested to read more about their lives and adventures.

Definitely a book for fans of the Yorkshire Dales.
22 comments26 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
excellent book watched the telly program. already recommended to family and friends. would love to visit the farm and family in the near future.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Enjoyed every page, didn't want it to end, couldn't put it down.it was so interesting, what a full and busy life.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse