Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars304
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2016
Never fear, readers; Riordan is back. This story is darker than both of the previous, and I think that that's a good thing, as it adds a nice degree of tonal impact. That said, I still don't think that it's as dark as it needs to be if we're jousting with the supreme Greek gods here. Thankfully though, there isn't as much silliness in this book as there was in the two previous, (cringe at the memory of that sea god with the braces). However, there is a rather irritating cow/eel and a bad joke that's milked up - (no pun intended!) - far too much. The action, though, I reckon is at its sharpest here. This book has the most pleasing storyline yet exibitted by Riordan in this series as well, and you will be well gripped by it. Also, the characterisation - (although it does waver a TINY bit in places) - is right up to its usual standards. Don't worry. Riordan's recovered from his brainwash.
Reviewed by Arron S. Munro.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Yet another great book starring Percy Jackson.
Fun, easy to read and it all builds up to the last book of this particular series, which is awesome.
Great fun for kids, adults, girls, boys alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I love Greek mythology and Percy Jackson makes me believe in it even more... Rick riodan is an amazing Twitter n his books are well structured n well written. I'll liked this book because finally so many questions are answered... you get to know any the prophesies n about thalia n one off my all time favourites Atlas (on of my fac God's IN Greek mythology) makes an appearance...it's all great. I love the way there a vision of the gods to be different from what they were portrayed to be in the Hecules series, the young Hercules series and in Xena (even though xena is not a real Greek character) Rick's worlds took me away to a whole new universe... I'm in love with Percy Jackson... but that's mostly because he is the son of Poseidon.... recommend this book.... definitely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
I know these books were not written for my age group (wont reveal what that is) but I dont care. If you enjoy being transported away whilst still being here - you will love Percy Jackson in this book even if you havent read the others (although I do recomment those too. I can feel Percy growing up quickly in this group and yet he is also struggling with what comes with that - loved it.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
After the first two books I was expecting an even better third book. What was Rick Riordan thinking when he introduced new characters out of the blue. I mean I didn't even get the first bit that easily. Seriously? Thalia's only been alive for like 11 months and she's already his friend?! And where did Zoë Nightshade and Bianca and Nico di Angelo come from? Artemis?!?! They just messed up the whole entire story for me spoiling what was otherwise a brilliant book which is why I gave it two stars not one. Also this book was not exciting at all even though it had action ( See?? All the new characters just wrecked the story spoiling even the action) ... Personally I reckon Rick Riordan should have put in way more effort than this... Anyway good riddance to Thalia ( Annabeth was way better) Zoë Artemis and Bianca..... Welcome back to Annabeth! And remind me why they needed to go meet Aphrodite? Just hoping the next book is as good preferably better ( I'm talking impossible here!!!) than the first two books and - hopefully - better than this one. Fingers crossed!
PS I didn't like the little bouts of romance in it. Yuck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Another excellent addition to the series. It doesn't have the excitement or pace of The Viking's Apprentice which is a brilliant adventure story, but still, this addition to the Jackson stories is well worth reading. Rick Riordan is an exceptional writer who can draw you into the world he creates and leave you turning each page wanting to know what happens next. Having said that this is slower than the previous books and more character based. There is a great 'baddie' readers will love. Overall a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The SEA OF MONSTERS ended with a bang, with another child of the three gods emerging from the tree guarding Camp Half-Blood. Percy Jackson now has his hands full in THE TITAN'S CURSE, the third volume of the series.

When he answers an urgent call from his best friend, Grover, at a school in Maine, unexplainable things start happening. Grover has found two more half-bloods, who are siblings, but the assistant principal is a powerful monster in disguise. Grover will never get the half-bloods to camp without help. Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia set off for Maine to help Grover, but don't realize that they're walking into a trap.

Dr. Thorn, the assistant principal, has some tricks up his sleeve. When Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt, arrives, things get out of hand. Dr. Thorn falls off a cliff with Annabeth. Artemis goes after her and everyone else returns to Camp Half-Blood. Here, they try to act as normal as possible, but two camper's dreams indicate severe trouble with both Artemis and Annabeth.

The Oracle speaks and five campers must find and bring back Artemis before the Winter Solstice. For the first time, Percy remains behind, but not by choice, and not for long. When Percy meets up with the group, the enemies start showing themselves--and the race to reach Artemis and Annabeth alive becomes more crucial. Can Percy save both them before the Winter Solstice?

THE TITAN'S CURSE leaves the reader hanging, waiting for several important questions to be answered in the final two books of the series. This fast-paced novel, along with the action, makes it a great series for fantasy lovers, reluctant readers, and anyone looking for a good story.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
It is great it exactly how books are meant to be it teaches you all about Greek myths and it has an amazing story to tell! Every book in this series just gets better and better and more and more exciting! I am soooooo glad that they made a film of Percy Jackson and the sea of monsters and I hope they make films of all of them because they are outstanding and Rick Riordan is an amazing author and should be so proud and happy about his work!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
My wife and I have read the entire series of the percy Jackson books now and really enjoyed them, after reading a lot of crime/thriller books written for adults it was such a refreshing change to have something gripping and entertaining without all the gore and woe of books aimed at adults. There is enough wit and depth to make the books enjoyable for adults, and enough cool action for kids.
Definitely recommended. (unlike the first film of the series, the lightning thief which is so far from the book it is a stretch to give it the same name) Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief,Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters,Percy Jackson and the Titan's Curse,Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth,Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Percy Jackson is touching harry potter in greatness. The Titans curse is so explosive and gripping it feels like your in the book.
With Annabeth missing and possibly dead Percy has to work even harder this year. With the return of Thailia, thoughts of who the prophecy is about dart between the two and the Greek god of the hunt is also captured.
Wonderful book perfect for 9+ readers and I can't wait to read the battle of the labyrinth.
One word:outstanding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse