Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars57
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 29 November 2013
I read this in two days. I never do that! ;-) Lots of examples from traditional businesses that have got me thinking. If you're a solo-preneur, you're going to need to spend some time thinking about how to apply the real world examples to your business but it will be totally worth it. If you're on charge of social media in a more corporate environment, give a copy to your bosses! (And read it yourself too of course!)

An easy read with lots of examples. Highly recommended reading.

Thanks Gary!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 2 February 2014
If you're selling a commodity to a younger demographic, this is the book for you.

It offers a great explanation of how to effectively use Facebook, Twitter (although I disagreed with a couple of points made), Pinterest and Instagram ... but nothing on LinkedIn (described as an 'emerging network'?? Hardly.)

Still much better than most of the books out there on social media, but looking forward to the next one that will hopefully cover selling services in a business-to-business environment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 13 December 2013
I've loved Gary's work for years now and Crush It got me to take social media seriously when, in 2008, it was considered something new and a bit whacky in the UK.

Thank You Economy on the other hand gave long term and strategic advice which didn't just apply to social media but to business and life generally.

JJJRH tells you in simple detail how to use the various platforms that are popular now, in 2013. Each chapter can be read in it's own right and you will get something from each and every page - even if, like me, you consider that you know quite a bit about SM.

The first two books gave you lots of "why" you should be using social media. JJJRH is the manual to tell you how. And from someone who lives it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 15 February 2014
This 'how-to' guide is a must read for any business that wants to promote itself online. Gary Vaynerchuk gets it. And as this is the 3rd book in a hugely series, you can also be sure that he translates what he knows into a highly readable book.

In Gary's own words, "I hoped that if I wrote a short, useful book... that broke today's most popular and exciting platforms down to their essential building blocks of text, image, tone, and link capabilities, it would make the exploding social media scene seem a bit less daunting to any marketer or business owner trying to keep up with it." Gary has achieved exactly that.

There is a huge temptation on social media to continually work from the inside-out, tweaking what you do according to your analytics. The reason this book packs such a big punch [sorry for the pun] is that it looks at each platform from the outside-in, never losing sight of the fact that successful marketing leads to sales.

And it does this in a highly informative, entertaining way. Gary Vaynerhook gives you six simple rules of outstanding content:

1. It's native.
2. It doesn't interrupt.
3. It doesn't make demands - often.
4. It leverages pop culture.
5. It's micro.
6. It's consistent and self-aware.

He then channels his huge wealth of experience into critiquing actual posts on different platforms to show what works to create sales, and what doesn't work and why. So that you can go back to each platform, and do things better and sell more.

I read this book on the kindle version, but I have found it so useful that I have ordered the paperback for easier reference. To sum up: buy this book, read it, do the hard work and reap the rewards of increased sales.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 9 December 2013
Immensely practical, to the point. For those who are starting to use social media and those who have been using it for a while, you'll find brilliant case studies which will show you how to and how not to use the various platforms.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Even though the world of social flies by at a crazy pace; at a couple of years old this book still delivers the goods. Lots of relevant advice with good and bad examples across the major platforms. Even someone with a good understanding of social, and already getting great results in it; will learn something new :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
I absolutely loved Gary's first two books but I found this one less practical and aimed at larger businesses. I enjoyed reading it all but can't say I took that many practical applications away from the book. I am looking forward to Gary's next book though and I loved Crush it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
Fantastic book if you work within marketing. Gary makes extremely good points when it comes to using Social Media for your business and he also provides you with concrete examples all throughout the book. Easy to follow and tons of things to learn. Great paper quality as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 22 December 2013
I was lucky enough to win tickets to the launch event for this, Vaynerchuk's third foray in to authorship as an authority on social media. As well as including a Q & A with the author himself, attendees were also given a free copy of this book, and I love free books.

Here, we have something a little different to Vaynerchuk's previous work - in JJJRH, he scrutinises the micro-content pushed out by dozens of major brands. Sometimes, it works - Oreo's Superbowl tweet is a good example of this. Other times, it doesn't - you just have to look at the sad state of some of the content pushed out by half-arsed marketing managers who refuse to dedicate serious time and effort to social media.

You'll learn a few things about what works and where (context, as always, is key), and you'll also feel inspired by some of the great work being done by other community managers. Start jabbing straight away, so your audience is primed and ready for a right hook.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 20 June 2014
In fairness this book has some good general advice and the approach has value regardless of what business you are in.

Howver, the review by KindleLover has it spot on. For those of us selling B2B much of the advice is limited in its use. I was dismayed that LinkedIn was dismissed at the end of 2013 as an emerging network. It's already almost as big as Twitter and has a much higher net worth and relevance for many businesses. There's no real advice there or detailed analysis of the context.

Similarly most of the examples are consumer focused. It's not that the advice isn't good, it's just that the value of the practical examples are lost.

Worth a read but doesn't quite deliver the blueprint for dealing with the proliferation of social networks and dealing with their unique aspects it promises.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion
Crush It!: Why NOW Is the Time to Cash In on Your Passion by Gary Vaynerchuk (Paperback - 25 Sept. 2013)

The Thank You Economy
The Thank You Economy by Gary Vaynerchuk (Hardcover - 1 Mar. 2011)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.