Andrew Page

 
Helpful votes received on reviews: 91% (427 of 471)
Location: Linslade, Great Britain
Birthday: 22 July

Interests
Reading, history, gaming.
 

Reviews

Top Reviewer Ranking: 57,534 - Total Helpful Votes: 427 of 471
Lolita (Penguin Classics) by Craig Raine
Lolita (Penguin Classics) by Craig Raine
Anyone conversant in internet slang knows what this book is about from the title. Nabokov treats of taboo subject matter in an uncompromising sensual and lyrical literary style, in the vein of Ulysses or Lady Chatterley's Lover, and whilst Lolita is worthy to be mentioned in the same sentence as those other two, Nabokov's writing does not quite demonstrate the same level of refined genius. In part, this can be explained away by the character of the narrator. Humbert Humbert is an unashamed pervert, notoriously unreliable, insane even, as he extravagantly and pompously confesses his affair with the 12 year old Lolita. Since he is unable to justify himself using the conventional morality of… Read more
Frankenstein (Norton Critical Editions) by Mary Shelley
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
In 1816, Mary Shelley travelled with her partner and future husband, the poet Percy Byssche Shelley, and her step-sister, Claire Clairmont, to Geneva and stayed for the summer with the latter's lover, the poet Lord Byron, and his physician, John William Polidori. They spent their time reading, writing and talking. One stormy night, they were retelling German fairytales, when Byron challenged his friends to see who could come up with the best ghost story. Shelley's contribution was Frankenstein. Byron's story was based on German tales of vampires, which Polidori adapted into his novel The Vampyre.

The premise of the story is familiar to practically everyone in the West, which… Read more
On the Genealogy of Morals: A Polemic. By way of c&hellip by Friedrich Nietzsche
If you are approaching Nietzsche for the first time, this book is where you should begin reading. One can read it as a commentary on Beyond Good and Evil, which in turn is a commentary on Thus Spake Zarathustra. Beyond Good and Evil is difficult because of its loosely structured and aphoristic style, whereas Thus Spake Zarathustra is positively opaque without some knowledge of Nietzsche's thought and, to a lesser extent, biography.

On the Genealogy of Morals is as close as Nietzsche got to explaining his ideas comprehensively in plain German. The book is divided into three sections with a preface. The Preface outlines Nietzsche's goal to produce a critique of morality from a… Read more