Raven

(TOP 500 REVIEWER)
 
Top Reviewer Ranking: 237
Helpful votes received on reviews: 89% (1,590 of 1,795)
Location: England
In My Own Words:
Crime fiction connoisseur. Reviewer. Bookseller. Blogger. A room without books is like a body without a soul.
 

Reviews

Top Reviewer Ranking: 237 - Total Helpful Votes: 1590 of 1795
After the Silence: Inspector Rykel Book 1 (Jaap Ry&hellip by Jake Woodhouse
3.0 out of 5 stars A little uneven..., 29 Aug 2014
This is the first book in Woodhouse’s Amsterdam Quartet series featuring Inspector Jaap Rykel. Described as a perfect read for fans of The Killing, The Bridge, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, Fatherland and equally for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart MacBride et al, I was more than a little keen to read this. Although I normally review in isolation, I will say that having read this as part of a crime book group, I find myself echoing the thoughts of my venerable fellow members, so what did we conclude?

As much as it pains me to write a more negative review of a debut thriller, the general feeling from myself and others was one of disappointment, despite the glowing plaudits this book… Read more
Land of Shadows (A Detective Elouise Norton Novel)&hellip by Rachel Howzell Hall
Finding myself esconsed in the lonely space between finishing the DVD of the late, lamented and quite brilliant LA cop show Southland, and awaiting the next Connelly/Wambaugh etc for my Los Angeles fix, I espied this- a new police thriller set in Los Angeles. Result, I thought, and, in a nifty change of reading for me, the main character is a female police officer, the feisty, but ‘still waters running deep’ kind of gal, Homicide Detective Elouise ‘Lou’ Norton. With the dual temptations of the location, and the promise of a notable debut, I dove straight in…

In a refreshing change of style for the well-trodden path of Los Angeles based crime, the main character Detective Elouise… Read more
The Death Box (Carson Ryder, Book 10) by J. A. Kerley
I’m currently relishing catching up with this series, after somehow overlooking the last two releases- The Memory Killer (published in June) is next on the list. In a change of direction, Detective Carson Ryder has upped sticks and moved from the sultry climes of his native Mobile in Alabama to Miami, as part of the team of consulting specialists at the Florida Centre for Law Enforcement. His reputation as a man in tune with the mental processes of the most dark and depraved criminal minds, has paved the way for his inclusion in this new team, leaving behind some of the stalwart characters of the series to date. As Ryder navigates his way in his new home (a temporary palatial beach side… Read more