Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more
Profile for Marti > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Marti
Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,380,060
Helpful Votes: 36

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Marti

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2
pixel
Notes From An Exhibition
Notes From An Exhibition
by P Gale
Edition: Paperback
Price: £8.99

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed, 11 Mar. 2008
This was a terrific, freshly written read. A great break from the usual drudge. I highly recommend reading Notes from an Exhibition by Patrick Gale.


Golden Eggs and Other Deadly Things (Carrie Carlin Mystery)
Golden Eggs and Other Deadly Things (Carrie Carlin Mystery)
by Nancy Tesler
Edition: Mass Market Paperback

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOLDEN EGGS AND OTHER DEADLY THINGS, 10 Feb. 2008
is a delightful amateur sleuth tale that will send readers searching for the previous novels in the series. Carrie is an adorable heroine whose frenzied hysterical lifestyle is something may fans will understand first hand. The identity of the killer is a surprise, as other suspects appear more viable. The heart and soul of this book lies in the protagonist and her relationships with her loved ones. The lengths she will go to in order to keep them safe are a sight to behold. Nancy Tesler has written an appealing, humorous and well crafted mystery that should prove to be her golden egg amidst contented sub-genre fans.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 26, 2008 2:00 AM BST


Midnight at the Camposanto (Taos Festival Mysteries)
Midnight at the Camposanto (Taos Festival Mysteries)
by Mari Privette Ulmer
Edition: Paperback

5.0 out of 5 stars Though the Land of Enchantment, 10 Feb. 2008
has had many tourists, few if any have seen this side of New Mexico that is eloquently and reverently described by Mari Ulmer. The well-crafted mystery includes many viable suspects from all walks of life and leaves readers wondering who did it. The lead character and her partners are fully developed, gaining audience support from the beginning of the story line. MIDNIGHT AT THE CAMPOSANTO is the first novel in the "Taos Festival Mysteries" and if the subsequent tales are half as colorful, mystical, and alive as this debut is, fans will have a treat for years to come.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 24, 2008 2:37 AM BST


Seven Sisters (Benni Harper Mysteries (Paperback))
Seven Sisters (Benni Harper Mysteries (Paperback))
by Earlene Fowler
Edition: Mass Market Paperback

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEVEN SISTERS, 10 Feb. 2008
is a powerfully moving drama that will be award winning Earlene Fowler's breakout book if justice is served. Benni is shown in a different light than in her previous novels as she struggles with feelings of jealousy and inadequacy whenever Gabe's ex-wife appears. The competition between Hudson and Benni for top investigative dog is like a heavyweight title fight, this adding to the fun and the sense of knowing the star better. SEVEN SISTERS is much deeper and more complex than the previous Harper stories, earning it a special place on the keeper shelf that contains the other six books.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 26, 2008 2:01 AM BST


Atonement
Atonement
by Ian McEwan
Edition: Paperback
Price: £8.99

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having only recently started on McEwans works, 10 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Atonement (Paperback)
I raced through Amsterdam and Saturday, thoroughly enjoying them both, and understanding why he'd been so heavily recommended to me by friends. Then I read Atonement. It blew me away. Mcewan has a talent for putting you there, in that moment, like no other author I've read.
The pre-war characters and location, the growth in personalities, the conflict (both world and character)and the final resolution of theme's and minds all melts together to produce a truly astonishing work.
What will stay with me forever are the scene's at the post Dunkirk hospital, so graphic, so real. Opened my eyes to the horrors of mass conflict. All this done through a character you know and empathise with, make the starkness bearable. I also must recommend another great novel, The Fates by Tino Georgiou. If you haven't read it yet, do so.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 27, 2008 11:33 AM BST


Atonement
Atonement
by Ian McEwan
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.29

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having only recently started on McEwans works, 10 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Atonement (Paperback)
I raced through Amsterdam and Saturday, thoroughly enjoying them both, and understanding why he'd been so heavily recommended to me by friends. Then I read Atonement. It blew me away. Mcewan has a talent for putting you there, in that moment, like no other author I've read.
The pre-war characters and location, the growth in personalities, the conflict (both world and character)and the final resolution of theme's and minds all melts together to produce a truly astonishing work.
What will stay with me forever are the scene's at the post Dunkirk hospital, so graphic, so real. Opened my eyes to the horrors of mass conflict. All this done through a character you know and empathise with, make the starkness bearable. I also must recommend another great novel, The Fates by Tino Georgiou. If you haven't read it yet, do so.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 27, 2008 11:39 AM BST


No Title Available

5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH OF AN ORCHID LOVER, 10 Feb. 2008
is a refreshing, fast-paced novel filled with offbeat charcaters that beguile the audience into liking them in spite of their serious flaws. Horticulture details are cleverly interwoven into the story line by an author who obviously is an expert on plant life because he is an enthusiast himself. Joe's quirky sense of humor enables him to survive situations that would make many a person weep. Although this is only Joe's second appearance, author Nathan Walpow has a winning series that appears ready for a long run.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 26, 2008 2:03 AM BST


Death of an Orchid Lover: A Joe Portugal Mystery
Death of an Orchid Lover: A Joe Portugal Mystery
by Nathan Walpow
Edition: Mass Market Paperback

5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH OF AN ORCHID LOVER, 10 Feb. 2008
is a refreshing, fast-paced novel filled with offbeat charcaters that beguile the audience into liking them in spite of their serious flaws. Horticulture details are cleverly interwoven into the story line by an author who obviously is an expert on plant life because he is an enthusiast himself. Joe's quirky sense of humor enables him to survive situations that would make many a person weep. Although this is only Joe's second appearance, author Nathan Walpow has a winning series that appears ready for a long run.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 26, 2008 2:05 AM BST


Mrs Malory & the Fatal Legacy (Thorndike Mystery)
Mrs Malory & the Fatal Legacy (Thorndike Mystery)
by Hazel Holt
Edition: Hardcover

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MRS. MALORY AND THE FATAL LEGACY, 10 Feb. 2008
is the fundamental British cozy that stimulates the mind of the reader. The warm heroine is a likable person who the audience will appreciate for her self-deprecating wit and willingness to seek out the truth even at the cost of bodily harm or death. Hazel Holt provides sub-genre fans with a first class novel that will send new fans seeking the previous Mrs. Malory stories.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 26, 2008 2:06 AM BST


Red Light
Red Light
by T. Jefferson Parker
Edition: Mass Market Paperback

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sergeant in the Orange County Sheriff's Department, 10 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Red Light (Mass Market Paperback)
MerciRayborn is a dedicated law enforcement official. She is an honorableperson who believes her calling is to apprehend and bring criminals to justice. Although two long years have passed since a psychopath killed her partner and lover Tim Hess, Merci remains consumed with anger and guilt because he died protecting her... Jefferson Parker has written one of the better police procedurals of the first year in the new millennium. Fans of Ridley Pearson and Linda Fairstein will fully enjoy RED LIGHT because it is a novel that has as much heart as it does action. The heroine is a sympathetic character driven by emotional needs that the audience understands and empathizes with even though they will question some of her actions. The rich sub-plots add complexity to the fast-paced main story line. On a score from a high five to a low one, this book is a strong six.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 26, 2008 2:11 AM BST


Page: 1 | 2