Profile for MR BEN W HALTON > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by MR BEN W HALTON
Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,933,135
Helpful Votes: 149

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
MR BEN W HALTON (London, United Kingdom)

Page: 1
I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976]
I Claudius - Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1976]
Dvd ~ Derek Jacobi
Offered by HalfpriceDVDS_FBA
Price: £24.63

149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC DRAMA AT ITS BEST, 14 May 2003
An epic soap opera following the life and times of the great imperial Cesars in Rome at the height of its world power. Massive helpings of sex, intrigue, violence and madness all acted with gusto by a stellar British cast, aided by a witty script and skillful direction. Both Derek Jacobi as Claudius and especially John Hurt as Caligula are absolutely mesmerising. If you know nothing of this period in history you will learn much even if a great deal of artistic license was used by Robert Graves in his books on which this series is based. Knowing how each member of the extended and inter-married imperial family is related to the other can be sometimes confusing but is essential in following the plot and if you pay sufficient attention you will be rewarded. Some great extras on the DVD too with an hour long retrospective containing interviews with all the major players and the cast choosing their favourite scenes being among the best. Theres an absolutely essential family tree as well but its a bit of a spoiler so best left til last. ...As well as being a great example of why the BBC was once so deserving of its reputation as a leading force in TV drama throughout the world, what you are getting here is the chance to immerse yourself for a few hours in a gripping story set in a studio-bound but convincingly Roman world, one that you will be utterly grateful you had the great fortune not to have been born into.
Comment Comments (4) | Permalink | Most recent comment: May 6, 2013 3:17 AM BST

Page: 1