Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now
Profile for J. R. Parker > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by J. R. Parker
Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,729,966
Helpful Votes: 126

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
J. R. Parker "Herne The Book Hunter" (Peterborough, Cambs United Kingdom)
(REAL NAME)   

Show:  
Page: 1
pixel
Bruce Springsteen: Live - VH1 Storytellers [DVD] [2008]
Bruce Springsteen: Live - VH1 Storytellers [DVD] [2008]
Dvd ~ Bruce Springsteen
Price: £7.99

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know Bruce a little better, 29 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been a fan of Bruce since 1984 and grown up with his music. It was his story telling skills (helped by the inclusion of song lyrics as liner notes) that drew me to his music and allowed me to sing along and join in with his music. I loved the characters, situations and glimpse of American lives and culture that Bruce sang about. This DVD focuses on this aspect of his style and we learn of Bruce's adoption of the story, the narrative voice of others and what evnts in Bruce's life influenced those story's and the themes he explores. I was particularly moved by the theme of Transformation told using the firemen who lost their lives on September 11th. This DVD really taught me a lot about Bruce's art and craftsman skills at song writing,as well as being entertaining and offering different takes of his songs.


Guitar Man
Guitar Man
by Will Hodgkinson
Edition: Paperback

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Read, 2 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Guitar Man (Paperback)
A nice mix of historical information on the Guitar cultural icon, how it came to be THE most popular instrument for the expression of music, and a journey,a rite of passage into the world of the musician.

Mr Hodgkinson is passionate about music and his train-spotter like devotion is focused on the guitar and its evolution, as well as how popular music evolved along with it. As a 30 something I never picked up a guitar till recently,and like Will's journey its inspired me to get strumming and just enjoy messing about and learning. Even if you have no desire to learn guitar its a fascinating lesson about a big part of our popular culture.


I'm with the Band: Confessions of a Groupie
I'm with the Band: Confessions of a Groupie
by Pamela Des Barres
Edition: Paperback
Price: £10.68

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frank and Funny Memoir, 11 Aug. 2006
I love the music, history, fashion and vibe the 60's have cast over society since. As a seventies child i've had to explore the 60's through the recordings and backward gaze of those who were there. Ive explored mainly through music, film and literature, and Pamela Des Barres name is one i often came across. I finally got round to reading this and was surprised to find it such a forthright book on her life and times. A great snaphsot of growing up to be a woman in LA at such a seething time for young people. Famous characters of the era are shown in a light not often portrayed in other books. A little bit salacious but a lot more about the meaning and power of music to move people.


Rat Scabies And The Holy Grail
Rat Scabies And The Holy Grail
by Christopher Dawes
Edition: Paperback

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale of Two Mates, 11 Aug. 2006
A thoroughly enjoyable read on many levels. I knew who 'The Damned' were and had heard of Rat Scabies but for me it was the Holy Grail reference which lured me to this book. I've read a lot of Grail books, such as those by Laurence Gardiner, the old Arthurian tales of Malory, the DaVinci code and many other esoteric books. Dawes' book stands out not just for its exploration of much of the evidence, theories and places, but his panache at wrapping them up in a hearty, joyous tale of two mate's travels.

The characters go on a journey both physically, the book is a great travelogue on south west France, and spiritually, with Dawes confronting many of the questions about truth, history and mystery familiar to an explorer of the esoteric. Dawes, like many of the E-generation, has an awareness born of that culture's dancefloor epiphany's. An awareness that there is more to life than our material culture wants us to believe. That his musings, fears and hopes are explored in a hilarious and yet throught provoking way is a credit to his writing skills. This book is a fun read on so many levels that it will satisfy the dusty high-brow Grail Lorist and those looking for a feel good tale to fly away with on holiday.


Breaking Open the Head: A Psychedelic Journey Into the Heart of Contemporary Shamanism
Breaking Open the Head: A Psychedelic Journey Into the Heart of Contemporary Shamanism
by Daniel Pinchbeck
Edition: Hardcover

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pass me the Iboga, 7 July 2006
I can't believe anyone hasn't submitted a review for this already. Great read if you like all things in the vein of Terence McKenna, Tim Leary, Ken Kesey et al. Pinchbeck's book is not sensationalist or particularly rhetorical, in contrast to Leary's famous mantra 'Tune In, Turn On, Drop Out'. Instead its a thought provoking exploration,a travelogue of the voyager on the psychic seas. I'd not heard of Iboga before but it sounds an amazing plant. Well written to boot.


Reich of the Black Sun: Nazi Secret Weapons and the Cold War Allied Legend
Reich of the Black Sun: Nazi Secret Weapons and the Cold War Allied Legend
by J.P. Farrell
Edition: Paperback
Price: £14.99

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa! Nazis in antartica! Nazi Nuclear Bombs in Russia!, 7 July 2006
The evidence may not be enough for a conclusive verdict in a court of law, but that's ok for many '911' 'facts' so i'll give this a whirl. It would certainly make for a great movie, perhaps the next Indiana Jones would do nicely. Secret Nazi bases in warm caves beneath antartic ice, supplied by u-boats and flying saucers would make great cinema. Farrell does present lots of evidence alongside some pretty convincing theories about what we think happened in WWII. This book along with its muse, Nick Cook's 'Zero Point', have convinced me that there never were any alien UFO's, just military programs using that as a smokescreen.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Aug 20, 2012 9:23 AM BST


Stone Age Soundtracks
Stone Age Soundtracks
by Paul Devereux
Edition: Paperback

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound Revelations, 7 July 2006
This review is from: Stone Age Soundtracks (Paperback)
Yet again Paul Devereux has tacked an esoteric subject matter and breathed new life into it. This book blows the accumulated dust of a myriad theories off the once silent stones over which they'd settled. Now when you visit these ancient places you can experience the wonders of sound and how this sense may have been key to their siting, placements and experience to our long gone forefathers. Revelatory.

The image of the contemplative shaman entranced by a dancing wave of smoke partices, caught in the beam of the rising sun, is a suitable metaphor for this books ideas.


Fairy Paths and Death Roads
Fairy Paths and Death Roads
by Paul Devereux
Edition: Paperback

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new path through familiar landscapes, 7 July 2006
I've been familiar with Paul Devereux's work since reading " Earth Lights Revelation " 10 years ago. I found that book to have some interesting and, for me, unique ideas about what UFO's were. In "Fairy Paths and Death Roads" Devereux has done the same with his approach to ancient pathways. I've read many books on old hollow was and their like, but i'd never heard of the death roads or even noticed some of the church yard features for the resting of coffins in transit. The book it really a walkers guide and is similar in its purpose to Julian Cope' excellent "Modern Antiquarian". Its aim is to prick the imagintaion enough to get us out in the landscape for it is there that the subject is lives.


A Complete Guide to Chi-Gung
A Complete Guide to Chi-Gung
by Daniel P. Reid
Edition: Paperback
Price: £24.99

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a deeper understanding, 3 Sept. 2002
I initially bought the L.V. Carnie book on Chi Gung based on the more favourable star rating on Amazon. I got a lot of benefit and a greater understanding of Chi Gung from that book. However when i happened across this book in a shop and had a chance to browse through it i was immediately struck by the depth of detail provided on the exercises.
It takes your understanding to a much deeper level. i'd been working through Carnie's book and getting on well but questions had come up in my mind that the book couldn't answer, for example was numbness and a cold feeling in my legs normal when i practiced. Reid's book has a whole chpater devoted to the sensations felt when practicing and these are the little markers which tell you how you are doing.
I have been practicing Kung Fu for 5 years and do have a good knowledge and experience of internal energies which may mean that i get more out of Reid's book than perhaps someone less experienced would. If less experienced then the Carnie book is probably better to start with.


Page: 1