Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now
Profile for Karen P. Inglis > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Karen P. Inglis
Top Reviewer Ranking: 124,454
Helpful Votes: 22

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Karen P. Inglis (London)
(REAL NAME)   

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3
pixel
Shadow Jumper: A mystery adventure book for children and teens aged 10-14
Shadow Jumper: A mystery adventure book for children and teens aged 10-14
by J M Forster
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.78

4.0 out of 5 stars An original page-turner for ages 10-12+, 1 Jun. 2016
A wonderful page-turner suitable for girls and boys age 10-12 and above. The highly original plot (which I won't repeat here - see the other reviews!) tackles sensitive issues in an engaging and entertaining way, taking the reader on journeys across rooftops and over hill and dale in search of the answer to Jack's missing father's whereabouts. The twin personal challenges faced by both Jack and his newfound soulmate, Beth, are tackled both sensitively and (from time to time) with appropriate humour. I'm giving four rather than five stars only because there were times when I felt the protagonists had a little bit too much luck on their side in moments of danger and I couldn't help wondering what might have happened if they'd had a few more obstacles put in their way! Still highly enjoyable and entertaining though :)


Mortal Engines (Predator Cities 1)
Mortal Engines (Predator Cities 1)
by Philip Reeve
Edition: Paperback
Price: £7.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant concept and writing, 11 May 2016
Brilliant - Phlip Reeve was introduced to me by my husband who is an engineer. What an imagination - and what a wordsmith. Highly recommended for ages 9+


Dev and Ollie: Colour Carnival
Dev and Ollie: Colour Carnival
by Mrs Shweta Aggarwal
Edition: Paperback
Price: £4.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Five-star colourful fun!, 11 May 2016
This is the second in Shweta Aggarwal's Dev and Ollie series and is an absolute delight. One of the rules for writing for children is you shouldn't try to 'educate' them with your storytelling as they will see you coming a mile off (and so run a mile!). But Aggarwal pulls this off seamlessly in my view and by the end of this vibrantly illustrated picturebook we have not only seen Dev overcome his aversion to messy play, but also learned about how the festival of colours, Holi, is celebrated and about its origins, (Apparently it used to be celebrated with ashes from the Holi bonfire the night before - ugh! Slinging water ballons filled with coloured paint at each other feels like so much more fun to me!) As a nice touch at the end of the book there are some fun facts about colour to feed curious minds. Did you know, for instance, that hot chocolate tastes best in an orange cup? That makes sense to me! Well done Shweta. I'd say this is a great book to be enjoyed by ages 3-6 and should be praised for embracing diversity and multiculurism in one swift flow, in simple and an honest way.

Disclosure - I was lucky to receive and advance review copy of this book. It didn't disappoint.


My Mum is There
My Mum is There
by Martin Thomas
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.99

5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect complement or alternative to '' Once again beautifully illustrated ..., 12 April 2016
This review is from: My Mum is There (Paperback)
The perfect complement or alternative to 'My Dad Will Do' Once again beautifully illustrated and both touching and engaging in its simplicity. Sure to be a firm favourite in the family household, whether shared by mum and child, or sibling/wider family or friends with little ones. Little ones will also love leafing through on their own.


My Dad Will Do
My Dad Will Do
by Martin Thomas
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.99

5.0 out of 5 stars An endearing story with beautiful illustrations offering a child's view of all the things ..., 12 April 2016
This review is from: My Dad Will Do (Paperback)
An endearing story with beautiful illustrations offering a child's view of all the things his dad can help him do while he's still small. The simplicity of the message is wonderful, and an added bonus is that it will no doubt encourage more dads to read with their little ones! A great gift for father's day!


George
George
by Alex Gino
Edition: Hardcover
Price: £8.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, uplifting - a book that every adult and child should read, 19 Oct. 2015
This review is from: George (Hardcover)
Beautifully and extremely moving in the way it portrays the inner world of George and the excruciating gap between what she is going through and how her mother and those around her perceive and understand her. In many ways it's their obliviousness to her situation that is the most heart-breaking -- from both sides' perspectives. Yet at the same time this story is so uplifting. George's quirky best friend Kelly is the saving grace in her unquestioning acceptance of George and, once her secret is out, Kelly allows the story to unravel in a positive way that children reading the book will be able to relate to and learn from on so many levels. And a wonderful reaction from George's teenage brother. I'd love to see this book put on the school curriculum.


The Miniaturist
The Miniaturist
by Jessie Burton
Edition: Paperback
Price: £3.20

4.0 out of 5 stars Transports you back in time effortlessly, 17 Oct. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Miniaturist (Paperback)
Thoroughly absorbing. Brought to mind The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet in the way it so effortlessly transports you back to its time. A page turning story, however a few untied-up loose ends mentioned already by other reviewers makes this four stars rather than five. Worth the read if you like historical fiction nonetheless.


The Children Act
The Children Act
by Ian McEwan
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.29

4.0 out of 5 stars McEwan at his clinical best, 17 Oct. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Children Act (Paperback)
First class, clean and intelligent writing offering an intriguing insight into legal argument alongside skillful yet depressing and clinical observations on relationships that have run their course.


The Palace Library
The Palace Library
by Steven Loveridge
Edition: Paperback

4.0 out of 5 stars A magical time travel adventure, 17 Oct. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Palace Library (Paperback)
Children aged 8-12 who are fans of adventure and time-slip stories will love The Palace Library in which sister and brother Harry and Eleanor and their cousin Grace are transported back to the 12th century after discovering a door to a secret 'timeless' library while staying at their uncle's stately home. Armed with magical books supplied by the ancient librarian, Edgar, and accompanied by his dependable bloodhound, Sophie, they soon find themselves in ancient rural England. Here they discover they've been chosen for a mission to help replace the stolen Sword of State, Ascalon, which affirms the power of the King and the ancient laws of the land. A cryptic prophecy warns Harry that in order to recast the sword to embody its full powers, he needs to retrieve a giant diamond from beneath the paw of a huge dragon whose whereabouts he must discover... Plenty of action, twists and turns -- as well as traitors to look out for! Highly recommended for fans of Narnia, Harry Potter and similar fantasy adventure stories!


How to Make a Living with Your Writing:  Books, Blogging and More (Books for Writers Book 2)
How to Make a Living with Your Writing: Books, Blogging and More (Books for Writers Book 2)
Price: £1.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Highly practical, as I had expected..., 6 Oct. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another no-nonsense practical guide from the inexhaustible Joanna Penn who shares invaluable tips, links and lessons learned in easy-to-read prose. The book is divided into how to make money from your writing and how to make money online in other ways, such as through online training, monetizing your website or blog, selling digital products that relate to writing and more. If you're serious about making money from your writing this book is a must for your virtual or physical bookshelf.


Page: 1 | 2 | 3