Profile for Pj Thorniley > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Pj Thorniley
Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,009,806
Helpful Votes: 22

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Pj Thorniley "PEEJAY" (Chester, UK)
(REAL NAME)   

Show:  
Page: 1
pixel
Mickey Story Teller
Mickey Story Teller
Offered by Buy-For-Less-Online
Price: £48.52

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crossing the channel, 5 Mar 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mickey Story Teller (Toy)
I read the reviews for this toys before buying it and chuckled at the previous reviewer having received a french one. I guessed that as it had been brought to Amazon's attention this would have been a one-off error. WRONG! I also received a french version, the day before our grandson's birthday. Too late to get another one. Gutted. Beware.


Eat Your Peas (Daisy Books)
Eat Your Peas (Daisy Books)
by Kes Gray
Edition: Paperback

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fave book of all times (and i'm 36!), 29 Nov 2007
This is a fantastic book. My children loved it and i've bought it for several of my friends children. I even took it into work and read it to my colleagues!


Messiah
Messiah
by Gore Vidal
Edition: Paperback
Price: £10.99

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step by step guide to creating a new world religion., 3 Sep 2001
This review is from: Messiah (Paperback)
Messiah, I believe is Gore Vidal's satirical masterpiece. This brilliant but deeply unsettling book, first published in 1954 is very prophetic. Despite the reaction to the book when it was published, Messiah, is not a blasphemous book. It is not a gloating destruction of Christianity but an understated, chilling look at the power of a manipulated mass media. This is a novel that works on several levels and has a wide appeal. It's a great work of satire for those who would like to see how great satire works. Its full of tasteless jokes and cheeky little parallels that ring bells in the mind of the reader. The most obvious 'gag' is the name of the new 'messiah', John Cave; the initials are J.C., get it? The original JC was a humble carpenter, the new JC is a humble mortician's assistant who decorates corpses. The 'Caveites' message is simple, death is nothing and is to be welcomed and the message of Christianity is subverted and turned on its head. There are parallels throughout the novel between the rise of the 'Caveites' and the rise of early Christianity. The continuous revision and re-writing of doctrine, for example, long after the death of the 'messiah' to suit present needs is a theme that Vidal returns to in other grat novels such as, 'Julian', and, 'Live from Golgotha'. We see how an essentially simple message is bloated by dogma, and religion is reduced to an apparatus of control as yesterday's persecuted become today's leaders of the inquisition. Back in 1954 Vidal was aware of the potential power of the TV and mass media and how it can be manipulated with those with the know how and the contacts. The new 'messiah's' right hand man is not a fisherman but a savvy Hollywood PR guru who ruthlessly exploits the mass media and John Cave's strange charisma to devastating ends. Fans of Noam Chomsky, Naomi Klein's, 'No Logo', or anyone who believes in the mass media's power to change, redefine and create attitudes and philosophies almost overnight will find this book striking a few chords because what really works in this novel is that the whole plot is so plausible. The reader is left with the feeling that this really could happen and it could happen any day.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Feb 19, 2008 10:08 PM GMT


Page: 1