Profile for brazuka > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by brazuka
Top Reviewer Ranking: 956,688
Helpful Votes: 7

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
brazuka (Brazil)

Page: 1
Welcome Here Kind Stranger
Welcome Here Kind Stranger
Price: £12.95

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk Album of the Year 1978, 18 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before starting a well succeeded career in pop music, singer/songwriter Paul Brady was actively involved with the folk revival of the sixties. First with the group Johnstons (sisters Adrienne and Luci Johnston, plus Mick Moloney on guitar and vocals, another exponent of Irish traditional music), with whom he recorded five albums: "The Johnstons" (1968), "The Barley Corn" (1969), "Give a Damn" (1969), "Bitter Green" (1970) and "Colors of the Dawn" (1971). After a short time with the phenomenal Irish group Planxty in 1974 without recording, Paul recorded an album with Andy Irvine in 1976, some albums of traditional Irish music with extremely talented musicians - "The High Part of the Road" (1976) with fiddler Tommy Peoples, "Molloy/Brady/Peoples (1977), with flute player Matt Molloy and "It's a Hard Road to Follow" (1979) with fiddler Andy McGann.

In 1978 he recorded his only traditional solo album, "Welcome Here Kind Stranger", a masterpiece of the Irish folk music, which includes his benchmark versions of "The Lakes of Pontchartrain" and "Paddy's Green Shamrock Shore". It won him critical acclaim and it was awarded the Melody Maker Folk Album of the Year. Here he played with Tommy Peoples (fiddle), Noel Hill (concertina), Andy Irvine (mandolin & hurdy gurdy) and Donal Lunny (bouzouki). The group would give a concert in Dublin at that time recently rescued - The "Missing" Liberty Tapes - as good as the original LP. The album is quite acoustic with overlapping several string instruments with Brady's syncopated and percussive guitar style.

The final album of traditional material was "The Gathering", a self produced tracks by Paul himself, Matt Molloy, Andy Irvine, Donnal Lunny and others.

Highly recommended.

Oh How We Danced/Whale Meat Again
Oh How We Danced/Whale Meat Again
Price: £17.43

4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Capaldi: 2 albums on 1 CD, 10 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raven Records released the first two solo albums by Traffic drummer, singer & songwriter Jim Capaldi on one CD: "Oh How We Danced" (1972) and "Whale Meat Again" (1974). The single "Eve" from the first album is a wonderful song, with brass arrangement from the Muscle Shoals Horns. This track is worth the price of admission. Jim was never a great singer, but he did a good job on these two albums. He is joined by Traffic band mates Steve Winwood, Dave Mason, bassist Rick Grech and drummer Jim Gordon. The music is much more funkier, but the Traffic fans will be pleased by the songs and the overall sound.
Other two singles: "Love is All You Can Try" and "It's All Right".
The remastered editions from Raven Records are always superb.

Give Me Just A Little More Time + In Session
Give Me Just A Little More Time + In Session
Price: £9.36

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing SOUL music from DETROIT, 15 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Demon Edsel, 2009, 2 CDs, 40 tracks

Led by singer/songwriter General Johnson, The Chairmen of the Board was created in 1969 by the trio Holland-Dozier-Holland, after their departure from Motown Records. The other members were Danny Woods, Harrison Kennedy and Eddie Custis (who left the group after the release of the second album).

The double CD comprises four albums + four singles:
THE CHAIRMEN OF THE BOARD (April 1970) - tracks 1 to 12
General Johnson GENERALLY SPEAKING (March 1972) - tracks 13 to 18
three non-album singles from General Johnson - tracks 19 to 21
IN SESSION (October 1970) - tracks 1 to 11 (Disc 2)
Harrison Kennedy HYPNOTIC MUSIC (October 1972) - tracks 12 to 18
and another b-side from General Johnson - track 19

All the songs are excellent, but the solo release from General Johnson is the strongest material here: great songs and performances, from one of the best soul singers of all times. The album has nine songs, the other three appeared on the COTB regular albums: "All We Need Is Understanding" and "Everything's Tuesday" from the second IN SESSION and "Saginaw County Line" from the third BITTERSWEET.

The non-album singles from General Johnson: "Savannah Lady", "I'm In Love Darling" and "Only Time Will Tell" (vocal and instrumental).

The solo album by Harrison Kennedy is more pop/rock, like the instrumental "Up The Organization", but there are smooth ballads like "Night Comes Day Goes" and "You Hurt Your Mother Again". The original album has more two songs: "Come Together" from the FIRST ALBUM and "Children of Today" from the second IN SESSION.

Highlights: "Patches", "You've Got Me Dangling On A String", "Every Couple's Not a Pair", "I'll Never Get Tired of You", "Mary Lou Thomas", "Everything's Tuesday", "Pay to The Piper" and "Sunday Morning People".

The sound is superb (the same remastering from the Castle 1999 edition).

Highly recommended.

A Parcel Of Steeleye Span (Their First Five Chrysalis Albums 1972-1975)
A Parcel Of Steeleye Span (Their First Five Chrysalis Albums 1972-1975)
Price: £12.46

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOX SET, 10 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First it was the release of the double CD "The Lark in the Morning" by Castle in 2003, putting together the first three albums by Steeleye Span - "Hark! The Village Wait" (originally released in 1970 on RCA Records), "Please to See the King" (released in 1970 on B&C Records) and "Ten Man Mop or Mr. Reservoir Butler Rides Again" (released in 1971 on Pegasus Records).

Now, EMI releases this fantastic box set, assembling the next five albums by the band, with its most successful lineups: Tim Hart (vocals, guitar, banjo, dulcimer), Maddy Prior (vocals, spoons), Peter Knight (fiddle, banjo, mandolin), Bob Johnson (guitar) and Rick Kemp (bass), with Nigel Pegrum as the drummer since 1974.

The box set gathers together five albums - "Below the Salt" (1972), "Parcel of Rogues" (1973), "Now We Are Six" (1974), "Commoner's Crow" (1975) and "All Around My Hat" (1975), along with four bonus tracks - the single "Gaudete" c/w "The Holly and The Ivy" (1972), "Bonny Moorhen" (1973) and a live version of "The Wife of Ushers Well" (1974).

The five albums are outstanding, although there are small differences between them: the first two albums from the set are no drumming (except for two songs), but the heavy bass and guitar playing (providing by Kemp, Johnson and Hart) creates an insuperable English folk-rock sound. Highlights: the a capella "Rosebud in June", the jigs "The Bride's Favourite/Tansey's Fancy", the beautiful ballad "One Misty Moisty Morning" and the rousing "The Ups and Downs".

The next three albums are full of energy, grace and great songs, with a better balance between the electric and the acoustic sides, with the wonderful vocal performances from Maddy Prior. Highlights: the traditional songs "Drink Down the Moon" and "Two Magicians", the great instrumental "The Mooncoin Jig" (with guitar and mandolin), the upbeat "Little Sir Hugh", the fancy "New York Girls" (with the late actor Peter Sellers on ukulele) and the exquisite harmonies from "Hard Times of Old England" and "All Around My Hat".

It's a treasure for the Steeleye Span fans and for all those who like folk-rock.

Page: 1