Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Profile for Roman Totale > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Roman Totale
Top Reviewer Ranking: 132,912
Helpful Votes: 166

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Roman Totale "romanxvii" (Wakefield)

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4
pixel
Magical Mix-Up: Birthdays and Bridesmaids (Magical Mix Ups)
Magical Mix-Up: Birthdays and Bridesmaids (Magical Mix Ups)
by Marnie Edwards
Edition: Paperback
Price: £5.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 3 May 2012
Briilliant children's book. Clever to combine images with text in a way that gives young readers the chance to join in. My daughter loves this. The characters are funny and cute, but also cool. The story is funny and really well written. Great to see that there are a couple more in the pipeline. We can't wait.....


Selected Poems 1940-1982
Selected Poems 1940-1982
by Norman Nicholson
Edition: Paperback
Price: £14.99

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really a book, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
review unhelpfully not about the contents of the book, i'm afraid, but for the book itself.

for over £12 i received what seemed to be a poorly produced print-on-demand edition. fuzzy repro, cover bound in gloss, no details on the spine.


LateNightTales: Belle And Sebastian, Volume 2
LateNightTales: Belle And Sebastian, Volume 2
Offered by jim-exselecky
Price: £6.17

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much test card music, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first B and S LateNightTales was a great thing. Mix of genres and some real revelations. This one sticks too closely to the 60s/70s test card music "exotica" that fey hipsters liked ten years ago. Pete Shelley, Pop Group, Cecile - good. Most of the rest - really?


Casuals: Football, Fighting and Fashion - The Story of a Terrace Cult
Casuals: Football, Fighting and Fashion - The Story of a Terrace Cult
by Phil Thornton
Edition: Paperback
Price: £6.79

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trimm Drab, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The great, funny and clever book about street style, football and music needs to be written. This is little more than a paste-up of poorly edited interviews with ex-casuals. Low on analysis, big on boasting about fighting and shoplifting. Both a big part of the scene, but just hearing a series of show-offs without self-awareness or the overlay of an author bothering to contextualise , explain or challenge is just dull. It's not much better than those yob-lit "x FC Crew and ver rows wot we done" books. Plus the emetic Peter Hooton gets way too much space.

Good things: Old labels mentioned, reproduction of that article in the Face from 83, Phil Saxe.

Also lovely how the author or editor has the nerve to pepper quotations of other people's work with "(sic)"s to highlight their errors, whilst racking up a howler on pretty much every page.


Complete (12" Vinyl Version) [VINYL]
Complete (12" Vinyl Version) [VINYL]
Price: £351.45

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complete?, 30 Dec. 2011
You get a lot of the tracks on here over and over again, but there's no Wonderful Woman. Come on


Submergence
Submergence
by J. M. Ledgard
Edition: Hardcover
Price: £16.99

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, 14 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Submergence (Hardcover)
it's a wonderful book. commits what for me is normally the cardinal sin of moving between different plotlines, but here it works because the writers does it so elegantly and you're so interested in them all and they're so marvellously connnected. unlike other reviewers here, i couldn't read this quickly. i found some of the passages so moving and disturbing that i couldn't hurry on. also the writing is so dense. dense in the very positive sense that it carries a lot, is always elegant and doesn't take short cuts.


Smut: Two Unseemly Stories
Smut: Two Unseemly Stories
by Alan Bennett
Edition: Hardcover
Price: £12.00

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Malvern Water or Perrier? neither, 7 July 2011
Bennett's famous response to the question of his sexuality is to liken it to asking a man crawling across the desert to choose between Perrier or Malvern water.

There's as little sexual refreshment in these two contes, which supposedly deal with err that kind of thing. We're in an odd middle-class sitcom world, full of racey doctors, handsome young bankers, widows with lodgers. You keep expecting Ian Carmichael to stride in clutching a tennis racquet. It's all just very insubstantial. It might have worked if the charm and humour (things Bennett normally brings in spades) had been there in sufficient quantity, but really this is post-watershed Terry and June.

I have to admit that I didn't finish either story, so probably ought to shut up. If they each improve markedly after 30-odd pages, then I'm sorry. Smack me on the bare bum with a doyley


Sunset Park
Sunset Park
by Paul Auster
Edition: Paperback
Price: £8.99

4.0 out of 5 stars Pared-back return to what he does best, 28 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Sunset Park (Paperback)
Austerphiles who've struggled with his dalliances with magical realism, animal narrators and general tricksy set-ups and MacGuffins will welcome Sunset Park. It's a very understated, although structurally complex, look at family relationships and friendships. It's back to the stuff about mortality and the dignity and heroism of getting through life that made The Invention of Solitude so strong.

The characterisation is somewhat slight, a consequence of the interwoven narratives following a number of individuals, but this makes for an affecting and deft lightness of touch around "big" issues (fratricide for one).

It's the mature work of a writer who knows that he can do it


The Terrible Privacy Of Maxwell Sim
The Terrible Privacy Of Maxwell Sim
by Jonathan Coe
Edition: Paperback

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If David Brent and not Kerouac had written On the Road, 24 May 2011
Road trip novel by wobbling mid-lifer.

It's very tightly plotted, juggling past and present, lots of characters and events who pop up and then come back in later. It's reasonably funny and reasonably moving and "true".

The problem is a certain so-whatness about the whole thing. We're learning about a guy whose whole tragedy is that he just isn't remarkable, and nothing remarkable is really happening to him. It's like a non-dark Reggie Perrin.

And I'm with the people who got cross with the ending. No spoiler alert required if I say that it involves an intervention by the author which I guess Coe likes to see in the tradition of Gide and BS Johnson, but comes off like duff Disney.


Solar
Solar
by Ian McEwan
Edition: Paperback
Price: £7.19

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny like Amis (K), Bradbury (M), 9 May 2011
This review is from: Solar (Paperback)
IM playing for laughs, uncharacteristically. The central character, Beard, is a lazy, sexually incontinent opportunist coasting through a career as a physicist on the strength of a Nobel prize won early in his career. There's some good knockabout stuff in here about academic life and the difficulties of resisting booze and fatty foods, cut through with some poignancy about marriage, ageing and, in the end, parenthood.


Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4