Profile for Loren Rosson III > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Loren Rosson III
Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,193,763
Helpful Votes: 16

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Loren Rosson III (New Hampshire, USA)

Page: 1
Take Me Home
Take Me Home
Price: 5.00

16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take Me Home, Track by Track, 15 Nov 2012
This review is from: Take Me Home (Audio CD)
I'm surprised by the reviewers who think Up All Night is the stronger album. Take Me Home is better overall, even if it lacks a monster-smash like "What Makes You Beautiful". Let's look at each track:

1. Live While We're Young -- An attempt to relive the spotlight of "What Makes You Beautiful" and missing by a mile, yet still a powerful opener. The continual bursts and claps somehow manage to sound abrasive and smooth at once. 9/10.

2. Kiss You -- Like an over-used sex toy, this one makes you feel soiled in a purely delicious way. The fastest, catchiest -- and easily the most sly -- song of the album. 10/10.

3. Little Things -- Riding slow acoustics, this one showcases the solo talents of each band member with what can pass for class. 8/10.

4. C'mon C'mon -- Too electro for its own good, and lyrically banal. It's okay, but so "just there" you'd hardly miss it if it vanished. 6/10.

5. Last First Kiss -- This midtempo is a sure guilty pleasure, pouring out heaps of what can only be described as wish-fulfillment fantasies lending to self-abuse. 9/10.

6. Heart Attack -- With lyrics like "I can't stand dumb love songs", the band members prove they can laugh at themselves, and get high marks for that alone. Add to that a compulsively raging chorus, and you have a recipe for frequent replay. 9/10.

7. Rock Me -- No thanks, keep the steak out of my salad. These lads ain't queens. 4/10.

8. Change My Mind -- I'm not impressed by complaints about the schmaltz. This track is painfully beautiful, and the album's masterpiece. 10/10.

9. I Would -- Laced with callow humor and paced which frenetic rhythms, this one is surprisingly addictive and gives you license to romp over the playground of life without apology. 9/10.

10. Over Again -- Gliding harmonies roll over and through each other in a fine-tuned ballad. 8/10.

11. Back For You -- This may be the album's filler song, but it fills and feels fine. 7/10.

12. They Don't Know About Us -- ...and may not ever want to after hearing this uninspired defense of the band members' inter-relationships. These guys do better laughing at themselves in purpose-driven uptempos (see tracks #6 and #9) than droning on in mutual commiseration. 5/10.

13. Summer Love -- A grating chorus brings down an otherwise impressive stab at a ballad with talented guitar work. 7/10.

Overall rating = 7.8 ~ 8 = 4-star album.

Page: 1