Profile for Mark Hughes > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by Mark Hughes
Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,628,927
Helpful Votes: 37

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Mark Hughes (Worsley, Lancs United Kingdom)

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2
pixel
The Murder Exchange
The Murder Exchange
by Simon Kernick
Edition: Paperback

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About Time, 1 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Murder Exchange (Paperback)
Its about time that an British author came through with a gritty crime story, instead of all the american rubbish that seems to hbe flooding the market place. Firstly the bad points i had worked out how the story would unfold due to some pretty heavy clues at the begining of the book, Also the character of Gallan was not likeable, So i would not rush to read another story where he was the main character again But if Iverson came up in another tale then definatly. All things considered i did not let these points deter me from reading what turned out to be a fast action story with twists and turns on every turn of the page it took me on a roller coaster story which i thought was well written easy to follow and i can honestly say that it turned out to be one of my best finds of this years reading. So forget the Divinci code and get down to some good honest fiction that really packs a punch into british crime writing.


Mayada: Daughter Of Iraq
Mayada: Daughter Of Iraq
by Jean Sasson
Edition: Paperback
Price: 6.39

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needed more bite, 22 Nov 2004
The story gave a brief insight into the goings on inside iraq's prison system but it seems to deal too much on mayada's fortunate background and i was left not feeling much sympathy for her, this should not have happened due to the serious nature of the book,


A Big Boy Did It And Ran Away (Abacus Books)
A Big Boy Did It And Ran Away (Abacus Books)
by Christopher Brookmyre
Edition: Paperback
Price: 7.99

1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too long, 22 Nov 2004
Someone please tell the editor of this book that to drag a story out for longer than needed is a great sin, 500 pages could quite easily been cut down to around 300, the story consisted of to much character development which prevented the story from flowing, having watched quite ugly one morning which i found poor i thought that i would give the author the benefit of doubt and read some of his work, Sorry to say that i will not rush to read anything else of his and if this book is turned into a television drama i must remeber to be watching something else that night!


Corned Beef Sandwich
Corned Beef Sandwich
by Mark Sullivan
Edition: Paperback
Price: 5.77

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The biggest load of rubbish ever, 11 Nov 2004
This review is from: Corned Beef Sandwich (Paperback)
This book is the worst book i have ever read in my life and that is saying something, i have written better when i was at school, i hear that this book won competitions, well all i can say is who friends were on the judging panel, utter rubbish go and read a take away menu as it will have a better story and ending and i am sure you would find it more interesting.


Want to Play?
Want to Play?
by P. J. Tracy
Edition: Paperback

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avery complex start, 11 Nov 2004
This review is from: Want to Play? (Paperback)
The first half of this book had me confused flitting form character to character i had to concentrate hard to follow the story but then the story exploded and i could'nt put the book down although i had worked out who the killer was in the early stages, this did not deter me from finishing the story, a great read, and i am sure that i will read more from this author.


Playing Extra Time
Playing Extra Time
by Alan Ball
Edition: Hardcover

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, 22 Sep 2004
This review is from: Playing Extra Time (Hardcover)
The book not only had an emotional feel to it but i felt it was written in a quite frank and truth telling manner, it lets the reader know exactly what happens in some footballing clubs and lets the suppoters know that they should be venting anger out on the men in suits and not just the manger and players when things are not going well with their clubs, i would recommend this book as a great stocking filler, and a must read for fans of Stoke, Portsmouth, Southampton and Manchester City which will hopefully change some peoples views of this great 66 ledgend.


Fury
Fury
by G. M. Ford
Edition: Paperback

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not Enjoy, 20 Sep 2004
This review is from: Fury (Paperback)
Frank Corso is a bad main character is he still living in the eighties with his pony tail? The end was obvious to me and i felt the story was dragged out more than it needed to be very very poor story full of characters with no real meaning to the plot. I am sorry but G M Ford just did not do it for me on this occassion.


Death by Hollywood
Death by Hollywood
by Steven Bochco
Edition: Hardcover
Price: 7.40

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple Story, 13 Sep 2004
This review is from: Death by Hollywood (Hardcover)
This book is a simple read and similar to reading a script the story is short but to the point with no boring bits to drag the story out in the middle which seems to be happening in most books written at the moment, the plot is good and the book flows freely.


To Kill A Mockingbird
To Kill A Mockingbird
by Harper Lee
Edition: Mass Market Paperback
Price: 5.24

2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in its day, 1 Sep 2004
This book was probably very good in the day when racisim was kept to a whisper between people but in todays modern times subjects that arise in this book are of an every day occurance, The book is well written and very enjoyable, I was expecting more on the incident with Tom Robinson and the subsequent court case when this was just a small part of the book, still an enjoyable read, but the literay types like to jump on the band wagon and say a masterpeice but sorry there are more thought provoking books around.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Mar 24, 2008 6:28 PM GMT


Kilo 17: The Secret War Against the Drug Smugglers
Kilo 17: The Secret War Against the Drug Smugglers
by Harry Ferguson
Edition: Paperback
Price: 11.57

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sat waiting in cars, 20 Aug 2004
This book is just okay, All the chapters are about sitting in cars watching targets, i understand that this is job that the author is telling us about but it is just boring not enough action and very little humour or anything else for that matter.


Page: 1 | 2