Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now
Profile for BookExplorer > Reviews

Personal Profile

Content by BookExplorer
Top Reviewer Ranking: 626,453
Helpful Votes: 6

Learn more about Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
BookExplorer

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2
pixel
The Beetle
The Beetle
Price: £0.00

3.0 out of 5 stars An OK read for fans of Victorian Gothic, 15 Jun. 2016
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beetle (Kindle Edition)
Intriguing but ultimately underwhelming Victorian Gothic horror novel. Surprisingly, this book originally outsold Bram Stoker's masterpiece, DRACULA.


Prince: Inside the Music and the Masks
Prince: Inside the Music and the Masks
Price: £2.99

4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating bio of the musical genius, 15 Jun. 2016
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating, if a little dry, bio of the late musical genius, with some very interesting revelations about how Prince worked and managed his bands. A must for fans.


1000 Facts about Horror Films
1000 Facts about Horror Films
Price: £0.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A short, fun read for the horror fan, 15 Jun. 2016
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very short read, but fun, with lots of interesting movie trivia for the horror buff. Some typos, though.


A Haunting of Horrors: A Twenty-Novel eBook Bundle of Horror and the Occult
A Haunting of Horrors: A Twenty-Novel eBook Bundle of Horror and the Occult

4.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have For the Horror Fan, 26 Nov. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unbelievable value for money. Twenty complete horror/thriller novels by some of the legends of the genres, including John Farris, Charles l Grant, Chet Williamson, and Tom Piccirilli. Also includes a number of out of print paperback classics like BLOOD OF THE IMPALER. M only gripe is the presence of a number of typos and editing errors. Not enough to ruin the reading experience, but could have been better.


Dark Dreamers: Conversations With the Masters of Horror
Dark Dreamers: Conversations With the Masters of Horror
Price: £1.48

4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading For Writers and Fans of The Genre, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Stanley Wiater' s first interview book with the masters of dark fantasy is an absolute must for aspiring writers and fans of the genre. Included here are terrific anecdotes and advice from the likes of Dean Koontz, Stephen King, Peter Straub, Charles L. Grant, Clive Barker, Robert McCammon, and many others. *A note on the kindle edition: There are a number of typos here, and the formatting isn't the best. It is still a readable, kindle-friendly version, but the publishers should definitely improve on this edition.*


Dark Visions - Conversations With The Masters of the Horror Film
Dark Visions - Conversations With The Masters of the Horror Film
Price: £1.48

4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating collection of interviews, and a must for fans of horror films, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A collection of short interviews with some of the most original and inventive horror filmmakers in history, including John Carpenter, Sam Raimi, Wes Craven and many other writers, producers and actors. A delight to read from beginning to end. Note on the kindle edition: Although the content itself is great, the second half of the kindle edition has a large number of typos. Nothing to dissuade anybody from getting it, but a revised edition is called for.


The Films of John Carpenter
The Films of John Carpenter
Price: £8.99

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for John Carpenter fans, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A terrific, passionate appraisal of John Carpenter's work, with many interesting tidbits about the making of the films and how they were received at the time of their release. After reading this book, you'll want to re-watch all of Carpenter's movies.


Rocky Balboa [DVD] [2007]
Rocky Balboa [DVD] [2007]
Dvd ~ Sylvester Stallone
Offered by best_value_entertainment
Price: £2.58

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rousing ending to a classic series, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky Balboa [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Stallone resurrects his career with this brilliantly written and directed closer to the ROCKY series. A must see for fans of Stallone, Rocky, or inspirational movies.


Pines (The Wayward Pines Trilogy, Book 1)
Pines (The Wayward Pines Trilogy, Book 1)
Price: £1.00

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A compelling, if ultimately bleak read, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
PINES has been described as being greatly influenced by Twin Peaks, David Lynch's timeless TV show. Maybe. But where Twin Peaks was full of otherworldly mystery and mesmerising atmosphere, PINES by Blake Crouch is a suspenseful, but bleak story. No quirky characters here. No supernatural/metaphysical vibe, either. This is a somber, disturbing tale, with a twist ending that leans more toward Sci-Fi than horror. It is a quick, compelling read. But fans of Twin Peaks and its ilk should note that PINES, at least to me, doesn't really resemble that brilliant show at all.


The Strain (The Strain Trilogy Book 1)
The Strain (The Strain Trilogy Book 1)
Price: £2.99

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling vampire novel, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE STRAIN is one of the better vampire novels to come out in years. Featuring memorable characters, a chilling atmosphere, and a frightening villain, it has a lot going for it. But it is also slightly repetitive and has an underwhelming ending, mainly because it is the first in a trilogy. Time will tell if together the trilogy of books make up a great story; but, on its own, it is still a good if not great read.


Page: 1 | 2