When will the CoD bubble burst?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 254 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 7 Jun 2012 17:59:57 BDT
Predictions below...

Other bubbles that have burst:

Guitar Hero

Wii

(Has the Halo bubble deflated somewhat?)

Vita is certainly on the way there

3DS burst on release but is patched up and steadily inflating.

Pro Evo

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Jun 2012 18:04:48 BDT
Nessy says:
Yes, it's only a matter of time before something else is the popular trend.

I would add -

Tony Hawk as one that burst and WoW as one that will burst in the future.

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:06:11 BDT
Hubbard says:
It's not a s controversial when a regular does it.

I reckon next gen or when something better comes out.

Arguebly something has, but no other game gets small team SnD right!

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:07:23 BDT
I am not a regular, this is my first time on the forum.

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:09:59 BDT
G. Hanks says:
At about 2:45pm on August 16th 2015.

Or there abouts.

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:10:46 BDT
"Yes, it's only a matter of time before something else is the popular trend."

Maybe but as a military FPS there are really only two dominant forces on consoles. There's been only two dominant forces in football games for a very long time. But of course given a long enough time line everything dies.

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:13:03 BDT
... says:
I'm saying 3 weeks on Tuesday.

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:15:22 BDT
There was an article on Kotaku a while back detailing why CoD was so successful. Good point though Tel.

Highlighted such points as a smooth 60fps experience, very high response time for inputs when compared to BF3 and others.

The engine also seems suited to consoles. imo it looks better than BF3 on console as the latter looks like you're running the PC version on low with no AA; lots of jaggedy edges and a mere 30fps.

Posted on 7 Jun 2012 18:16:03 BDT