Customer Discussions > thriller discussion forum

readers reviews on amazon so subjective their near useless ?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 38 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 2 Mar 2013 14:27:02 GMT
Bookworm says:
I think you're right. I don't read reviews before I buy a book, I read the blurb and if I like it, I'll buy it! As a writer, I know the long night and days I spend trying to write a great book could be destroyed in an instant by a horrible review but like everything in life, everyone cannot like my book, it might not be to some people's taste while some might absolutely love it! Hopefully, people would be sincere in their reviews!

Posted on 2 Mar 2013 12:08:49 GMT
byekitty says:
its interesting the range of reviewers on here some serious and trying to be helpful others merely trying to get noticed for being controversial and if you can be bothered looking at other reviews by them it often tells you a lot, i recently came across a reviewer who has reviewed a lot of fiction and given very poor ratings to many pretty universally praised books his reviewer rating was quite high and he'd received many helpful votes but on actually reading some of his reviews i found them to be very vague and quite often factually incorrect leaving me with the impression that he'd not really read most of them

Posted on 2 Mar 2013 11:25:57 GMT
Joo says:
Whilst perusing a reviewer's reviews I spotted that he only reviewed the samples as he very rarely went on to buy the book. He was very thorough in his reviews and explained just why he was giving that particular rating.
What was queer though, was that he gave 5 stars and ended the review by saying "recommended" but he hadn't bought the book !! If it's not recommended enough for him to buy it, why should anyone else pay any notice to what he said.