Customer Discussions > photography discussion forum

Film Corner - JUST film, not digital.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 126-150 of 1000 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 8 Feb 2011 17:41:36 GMT
Graham, What kind of film scanner have you bought that's only
good for 7"x5"? My Epson 4180 flatbed would produce
excellent A3 prints with a 1290 printer from 35mm. Unfortunately,since I changed my computer last year, I can't get it to work. I've tried downloading new drivers from Epson,
but it still won't work even though it says the download was
successful. I'm not clever enough with computers to know what to do next. I've no experience with the Canon A1 or AE-1, but the FD lenses that I used on my FTb were superb. I
also had two Nikon F90X's and liked them very much, but they
had to go with all the rest. Michael.

Posted on 8 Feb 2011 17:49:54 GMT
Last edited by the author on 8 Feb 2011 17:50:38 GMT
G. E. Hearn says:
Hi MIchael.

It was this one:

Veho VFS-008 Smartfix Scan to SD Stand Alone Slide and Negative Scanner

It looks great on the B&W negatives I've tried so far and could probably go bigger than 7x5" without too much worry, but that's just the size I'd want to print for my old holiday snaps etc.

Trouble is it's not good on colour negatives. Everything has a blue-ish cast that I can't seem to get rid of. I've emailed the makers, but it may well have to go back unless there's something silly I'm missing. Which is unlikely. :-(

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Feb 2011 18:27:01 GMT
Have you tried any slides? Just in case the base colour of the film is upsetting it. Otherwise I'd dump it or exchange it at least.

Posted on 8 Feb 2011 18:30:08 GMT
G. E. Hearn says:
It's going back Doc.

If you switch it on and open the tray door you can see that the light coming off the "light table" inside isn't white - it's very, very pale blue.