Customer Discussions > mp3 discussion forum

Mp3 versus FLAC - What equipment do you use to listen to music?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 226-250 of 1000 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 18 Dec 2010 23:50:03 GMT
I so remember the sp25! At that age I had an old valve Rogers Cadet and my speakers were corner cabinets built by an enthusiast with Celestion drivers, filled with bits of old carpets to dampen. For the young, digital is the thing but for us old timers, we can indulge ourselves.lol
I am sure the music industry itself is interested only in making money.

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Dec 2010 03:42:48 GMT
Iceboy says:
I always buy a CD so I have a "master quality" lossless version for my library. For PC listening and iPod usage, I rip using LAME on the Extreme VBR setting, which is pretty good - best quality sound, not too big a file. 320k is a waste for some kinds of music (mono, older recordings, etc).

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Dec 2010 13:25:43 GMT
patashnik says:
I use a desktop with PC 5.1 speakers most of the time, and often in bed or out and about with a Creative Zen X-fi2. Soon I'll have a tallboy system hooked up to the 50" plasma, so in the home, I'll be outing music there. (I have the PC's gfx card HDMI'd to the TV. Full screen visualizers!)

I used to have my collection in FLAC, but I just could not notice a difference after months of leaving behind MP3. However, I still prefer having CDs as hard copies and ripping my own 320 kB/s copies, but for particularly rare tracks I settle for things in the 192-256 range. I honestly have never heard a difference between anything above 192, to 320. It's when you're down to 128 that you miss out on things.