Customer Discussions > country music discussion forum

Does the UK do contemporary American style country?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 23 Mar 2011 10:10:59 GMT
Hockeynut says:
I don't know how to explain this, but I'll try anyway.

I'd say I'm fairly new to Country Music. Though I've always had a bit of a taste for it, even back when CMT used to be on in the UK. I tend to go through phases of listening to it and not so, I think I kind of forget about it, since there's very little coverage over here. So on and off for the last 10 years or so, maybe a little longer.

But last week I got a new toy, a new internet radio, and thought I'd try a real authentic Nashville Country Station. I ended up finding WSM-FM, and my new radio has barely played anything else since! :D Aside from he cheesy adverts I'm loving pretty much everything they play.

I don't know how to describe the type of country music I like, other than contemporary. That station says it plays from the 90's onwards, and I'd say I like that. Then I try other stations and hear the older style of country music and I'm not so keen on that. I tried looking for any UK country stations to see what they played, but it seems to more folk music. Now no offence to anyone who likes that, but to me it isn't country music, or at least how I've heard. The stuff I like makes me smile and laugh sometimes too. Even the sad ones seem to have a feel good vibe to them.

So I've tried, not very concisely, to describe the type of country music that I like. So my next question, is there anything like that in the UK? Either live kinda gigs/festivals or radio stations? I've had a little look, but it seems less the kind of style I like, and more old-style or folky. This is why I've tried to describe the kind of thing I like, so that this can be answered better.