Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now
Customer Discussions > classical music discussion forum

Premature deaths

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 29 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 3 Jun 2014 09:37:53 BDT
Mondoro says:
Setting aside the obvious candidates Schubert and Beethoven which composers died prematurely before they reached their full potential?

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Jun 2014 10:17:17 BDT
Bruce says:
Mahler was the name that first sprang to mind - his 10th promises so much and he was still obviously so full of ideas when his life was cut short.

Posted on 3 Jun 2014 10:18:44 BDT
Last edited by the author on 3 Jun 2014 10:26:23 BDT
Schubert's obv.a good shout but, though I'm not an expert in such things, I wouldn't have thought Beethoven did too badly for that era in reaching the age of 57. To answer the question directly, Mozart's the other name which springs to mind for me.

There's also a very interesting subsidiary question here about whether Mozart, Schubert and any other composers of genuine distinction who died young really did fail to reach their full potential. Had they lived longer they'd have gone on developing, but whether they'd actually have "improved" in any meaningful sense is moot.

Posted on 3 Jun 2014 10:44:08 BDT
Mozart and Schubert both died relatively young but both had already achieved great things; whether it was their full potential we will never know. Whether it was premature is also a moot point; dying in your 30s wasn't, at the time, anything unusual, especially in Vienna which seems to have been a particularly unhealthy place to live.