Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Discussions > classical music discussion forum

Beethoven Piano Sonatas

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 57 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 29 Mar 2012 09:25:17 BDT
Malx says:
I currently have two complete sets: Schnabel, and Barenboim. Recently i've come across the sets by Takacs, Lortie and Oppitz at very reasonable prices for downloads, my question: is does anyone have/know any of these sets and if so what are their opinions of them?
On a general point, which set(s) are your favourites?

Posted on 29 Mar 2012 09:58:59 BDT
Sorry, but I have no knowledge of Takacs, Lortie and Oppitz. I have two complete sets - Barenboim and Lewis. Additionally, I also have two sets of the late sonatas - Pollini and Brendel. Also selections from Uchida, Solomon, Serkin, Kovacevich and others. It is difficult to choose favourites except for Op 111 where it is Pollini.

Posted on 29 Mar 2012 10:07:25 BDT
Last edited by the author on 29 Mar 2012 10:07:50 BDT
I have three complete sets, and it seems, as everyone else, one of them's Barenboim's (EMI)! I also am the proud owner of a cycle by Eric Heidsieck (not a major name, but really not at all bad!) and Bernard Roberts. I do think of the Barenboim set as my primary one here. Also various others in various other sonatas, some by Jeno Jando, Alfred Brendel, Pollini, Gilels, Ashkenazy. My favourite of the late sonatas - narrowly beating Pollini and Brendel - is Wilhelm Kempff, who to my knowledge did two complete cycles for DGG, one in mono (?).

Posted on 29 Mar 2012 10:10:52 BDT