Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

More Options
Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 1 & Prince Rostislav
See larger image

Rachmaninov: Symphony No. 1 & Prince Rostislav

28 Oct. 2013 | Format: MP3

£7.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 25 Oct. 2013
  • Release Date: 28 Oct. 2013
  • Label: Warner Classics International
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 59:18
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00G2QWE3C
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 63,980 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: MP3 Download Verified Purchase
It was the RLPO and Vasily Petrenko's performance of Tchaikovsky's 'Manfred' symphony at the London Proms that prompted me to download this recording of Rachmaninov's First Symphony and early orchestral work 'Prince Rostislav. I have also downloaded the 'Manfred' symphony as well as Petrenko's recording of Rachmaninov's Third Symphony and Symphonic Dances. Tchaikovsky admired Rachmaninov's early attempts at composition and said that he would include 'The Rock' in his forthcoming tour of Europe but unfortunately his sudden death in October 1893 meant that it never came to pass. As a teenager Rachmaninov transcribed the 'Manfred' symphony for two pianos and also learnt much about orchestration. After Tchaikovky's death he composed a trio in his memory. It goes without saying that when you listen to Rachmaninov's symphonys, the spectre of Tchaikovsky can be seen and heard. The heartfelt melodies, the soaring strings, the huge dramatic climaxes with thrilling brass and percussion are all there. The RLPO play their hearts out under Petrenko's inspired conducting responding to the deep melancholy of the works and performing with energy and exuberance when necessary. The less familiar works such as the Caprice Bohemien, The Rock and Isle of the Dead are played with such enthusiasm under Petrenko's direction that one wishes they were heard more often. Now I look forward to familiarising myself with the RLPO and Vasily Petrenko's Shostakovitch.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category