Shop now Learn more Shop now Up to 50% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Halloween Pets Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Deliver to your Kindle or other device


Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Global Frequency [Kindle Edition]

4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £14.99
Kindle Price: £14.24 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £0.75 (5%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £14.24  
Paperback £14.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

Created by Entertainment Weekly "It" writer, Global Frequency is a worldwide rescue organization that offers the last shred of hope when all other options have failed. Manned by 1001 operatives, the Frequency is made up of experts in fields as diverse as bio-weapon engineering and Le Parkour Running. Each agent-equipped with a special mobile vid-phone-is speciffically chosen by Miranda Zero, enigmatic leader of the Global Frequency, based on proximity, expertise, and, in some cases, sheer desperation!

This 288 page volume collects the entire 12 issue Global Frequency storyline in one trade featuring art by mindblowing collection of artists including: Lee Bermejo, Glenn Fabry, Steve Dillon, David Lloyd, Gene Ha and many others.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product Description


Explosive storytelling and provocative politics. "Entertainment Weekly " Warren Ellis has put passion and commitment back into adult graphic SF. Michael Moorcock Warren Ellis can be fierce about a multitude of things, yet one suspects he is fiercest when it comes to his demands upon himself. Alan Moore Grade: A-. Part Buckaroo Banzai, part X-Files, Global Frequency starts in the middle of a mind-bending nuclear crisis and hauls ass straight through to the close "Entertainment Weekly""

About the Author

Warren Ellis is a prolific writer whose works include the novel Crooked Little Vein (William Morrow) and, for Marvel Comics, Iron Man, Nextwave, Newuniversal and many others. His work for DC Comics includes PLANETARY, TOKYO STORM WARNING, STORMWATCH, OCEAN, GLOBAL FREQUENCY, HELLBLAZER, and a five-year run on TRANSMETROPOLITAN.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 110528 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Vertigo (3 Jun. 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00B9OYON0
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #100,736 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4 star
2 star
1 star
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it 19 April 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a collection of sci-fi tales about the Global Frequency: a task force of 1001 operatives around the world. These operatives each have a skill set of their own. Central to the story are two characters, Miranda Zero (the leader of the GF) and Aleph, who is basically the nervous center (or brains) of it all: she's the one who activates the operatives and coordinates all of the action.
I had previously read Transmetropolitan, so I knew how good Ellis could be. I had also previously enjoyed comics by almost all of the artists here, so I knew visually I was in for a treat.
This was a real fun read for me. You have terrorism, cyborgs gone rogue, nuclear danger...
Basically, if you are intrigued by what I wrote, go ahead and pick it up.
It's not a game changer or anything, but it's cool, and the different artists help keep it fresh (really cool artwork in most cases, btw).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as strong as Planetary 2 Sept. 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I'm a huge fan of the Planetary books by Warren Ellis, so the bar was probably set a bit unrealistically high for this book. This title felt like he was trying out some ideas in a similar vein to Planetary, but perhaps hadn't developed them quite as well.

This is an enjoyable read and has hints of the awesome story in Planetary, its just not quite of the same level overall.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and wonderful 16 Sept. 2015
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Another triumph from Warren Ellis. Rich, exciting, original, imaginative, funny, brutal, scary... For my money, Ellis is the best writer in comics.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.6 out of 5 stars  19 reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "... and you're on the Global Frequency." 9 Feb. 2013
By Babytoxie - Published on
Warren Ellis was in high-gear in the late 1990s and early 2000s, cranking out a stream of exciting titles under the Wildstorm imprint, and I ate them up. His revival of the fallow Stormwatch led into The Authority, which, for better or worse, paved the way for various "widescreen" superhero titles. Planetary, steeped in the mythology of comics and pulp heroes, was a fanboy's dream. The lesser-known GLOBAL FREQUENCY was a monthly adrenaline rush that was more accessible than the previous titles, which may explain why it has been optioned several times for television. Previously available in two trade paperbacks, all 12 issues are now available in one reasonably-priced softcover edition. Each issue features an emergency being tackled by a worldwide network of 1001 specialized agents working for a semi-covert organization. These agents could be former military, scientists, police officers, computer hackers, linguists, stage magicians, or athletes going about their lives; however, select agents, upon receiving a call on a special phone, drop everything in order to apply their skills either individually or as a team. But these aren't your standard emergencies; rather, the agents are faced with such situations as a human bomb, an alien memetic virus, mass catatonia, or a doomsday cult prepared to take others with them. While organization head Miranda Zero and her dispatcher Aleph remain a constant throughout the collection, the 12 stories are tight stand-alone scenarios. There's no real conclusion to the entire run, but then there's really no need for one... rest assured that these folks will stay on call, ready to save the world when needed.

Each story really makes an impact. The concepts are pretty wild, and even the ones that tread the familiar have a suitable amount of weirdness injected by Ellis. My favorite, "Big Wheel", involves a rogue homicidal Six Million Dollar Man. Anyone who's ever questioned the physical plausibility of Steve Austin's bionic enhancements should read this. The insightful story and creepy art have stuck with me over the last 10+ years.

Artists are as follows: Garry Leach, Glenn Fabry, Steve Dillon, Roy Allan Martinez, Jon J. Muth, David Lloyd, Simon Bisley, Chris Sprouse, Lee Bermejo, Tomm Coker, Jason Pearson, and Gene Ha. All are at their best here. This book is a great deal for the price, and I highly recommend it. There's not a superhero in sight - just entertaining sci-fi action in the vein of The X-Files or Fringe.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Making each issue accessible as an entry point is great for a monthly 18 Jun. 2015
By Josh S. - Published on
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Making each issue accessible as an entry point is great for a monthly, but as a collection this becomes a bit exhausting and has a real "rinse repeat" feel to it. Seems more like a SyFy series with no real sense of mythos. I would have much preferred Ellis to take three or four of these stories and stretched them into mini-series than what we get here. Still, it is Ellis so there are some interesting ideas to be had.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but two-dimensional. 7 Nov. 2014
By Alexandre Dantes - Published on
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is a collection of what I consider one-shots. They're not bad, and it's impressive that Ellis manages to accomplish the level of development he does in the snippets that make up the book. But I do like a layered, Transmetropolitan-like story, and while this wasn't intended to be that, I found myself disappointed enough to take away a star.
4.0 out of 5 stars You're all on the global frequency 13 Nov. 2014
By Michael K. Smith - Published on
"You're on the global frequency." That's what a thousand and one specialists in science, psychology, criminology, diplomatics, and mayhem are likely to hear when Aleph, the central controller, calls them on their special sat-phones. Global Frequency is a semi-covert international rescue organization founded by the ubiquitous Miranda Zero as a means to try to save the world from itself. The crises they show up include the occasional terrorist but are more likely to involve speculative science and more or less "normal" world-threatening problems. No superheroes or supervillains here -- the Bad Guys are plenty bad just as ordinary humans. And any kind of high tech you can think up, they've got it. Each of the original twelve issues of the magazine had a different artist, which I always find a bit jarring (though most of them are pretty good, especially Jason Pearson), but the writing is all by Ellis, and he's always terrific. Regarding one of the organization's more terrifying interrogators: "Did you ever have a nightmare about a large man who killed your parents, and your siblings, and then your lover, and then everyone you know? And then burned your house down and destroyed everything precious you ever conceived of? That was me." Wow. Very smart stuff.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great boook! 30 Oct. 2013
By Cow Man - Published on
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
So cool, I love the premise here and the artwork is flat bomb. Would really like to see this as a TV show.!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category