Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
The Game: (Victor the Assassin 3) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £2.60 (29%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
The Game: (Victor the Ass... has been added to your Basket
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Riverside_Books
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Picked, packed and dispatched by Amazon. Eligible for Amazon free Supersaver delivery or Prime.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Game: (Victor the Assassin 3) Paperback – 20 Jun 2013

157 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.39
£2.95 £0.01
£6.39 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Game: (Victor the Assassin 3)
  • +
  • The Enemy: (Victor the Assassin 2)
  • +
  • The Hunter: (Victor the Assassin 1)
Total price: £24.37
Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (20 Jun. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0751549177
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751549171
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 3.2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (157 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 12,636 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Tom Wood was born and raised in Staffordshire and now lives in London.

He is the author of:

The Darkest Day
Better Off Dead (aka No Tomorrow)
The Game
The Enemy
Bad Luck in Berlin
The Hunter (aka The Killer)

(Please note that there is at least one other author named Tom Wood!)

Read more about Tom at tomwoodbooks.com

Product Description

Review

Exciting...no punches pulled (Choice)

To reveal more, particularly details of a hair-raising climax, would be to destroy the reader's enjoyment, but like the rest of this first-class piece of action work, it's ingenious and delivered with all the subtlety of a kick in the teeth. The Game is a well-plotted, well-written, brutal, bloody, but hugely enjoyable addition to a long tradition of action thrillers, the ideal book to take on holiday with you. (Crime Review)

Truly mesmerizing . . . a powerful, forward-driving plot and lots of brutality. I loved it. (Mystery People)

Book Description

The brand new action-packed thriller from rising star Tom Wood, perfect for fans of Bond, Lee Child and the Bourne novels.

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 20 Mar. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I've read the first two books and the short story and thoroughly enjoyed them all and this one was no exception. I do agree with a few people (reviews placed here but seemingly now removed) that the price was a bit much for a Kindle edition but I'm also of the opinion that if I put in enough effort to write a novel, I'd want it to sell at a decent enough price to make me some money too. Not sure how much Amazon take but hey ho. Not the point.

The book is as well-written* as the previous ones, with an engaging story and new characters being added. Some of these characters look like they'll be around for any future books, others don't last that long. The action is well described and never becomes clumsy. The author has a talent of making us like the characters he wants us to like and dislike the ones that we are supposed to dislike. Victor is a contract-killer and we like him. That takes some doing. I know I've got into a story well if I'm animated while reading. Sounds silly but you know you've got a good book if you cheer when the bad people die and the hero does something cool. And I cheered (internally as I was mostly on a bus) quite a bit while reading this book.

Another thing I like is when the story has twists and turns enough to be exciting but stays believable. There's no point having a great story if the hero does something impossible because it throws you out of the little `zone' you're in and spoils the book. This book sticks to a great plot while never becoming silly. Also a talent.

I won't go through the plot because the blurb on the product-description does that well enough and you don't want to learn too much because the story's more fun if it turns in directions you aren't expecting.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Julia Flyte TOP 100 REVIEWER on 17 April 2013
Format: Paperback
This is the third book in Tom Wood's series about Victor the assassin. If you haven't read the previous books, it doesn't matter too much - although by all means you should read them because they're pretty good. Our "hero" Victor is an assassin who liked to operate as a lone wolf. He is inscrutable, ruthless, highly analytical and very, very good at what he does. After reading all three books in the series I still know next to nothing about him - not his real name, his nationality, how he came to do what he does. One of the things that I love about him is that he never lets his guard drop. You know he's not going to fall into bed with a seductive woman or let his emotions cloud his judgement. He's on high alert at all times.

The story kicks off with Victor in Algiers, on the tail of another assassin that he has been hired to kill. He completes that assignment, but then he is coerced into posing as the dead man to identify the client who had hired the assassin for his final job. Victor goes undercover but finds that events quickly start to spiral outside his control.

It's a fast moving book with lots of action but not so fast that it becomes silly. There are plenty of twists along the way, which keep the suspense up. And Victor is just such a cool character! There's so much thought that's gone into the way that he operates, so it never feels unrealistic as books in this genre often can.

There are a number of writers mining similar territory: Sam Cain, Mark Greaney, Vince Flynn - but I think Tom Wood beats them all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful By ThrillerMan on 24 Jun. 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Yet another winner from Tom Wood. Of course it is better to read his Victor trilogy in sequence, The Hunter (aka The Killer), The Enemy and then The Game, not forgetting the e-book only Bad Luck in Berlin short story which fitted neatly between the first two full novels, but it's not absolutely necessary.

The Game is the best yet as Tom Wood takes you on an exciting, action packed journey where Victor's incisive thinking and survival powers are put to the test. Get inside the mind of the ultimate assassin as he works at his trade. The way Victor analyses each and every situation is totally mesmerising.

Carve yourself some time and go for it. You won't want to put this book down.

I can't wait for the next one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Matt on 30 Dec. 2013
Format: Paperback
Not often do I get the urge to not only write a review on here but also contact the author (who was gracious enough to respond) about just how much I enjoyed this book. Actually this is a first for both, a compliment only I can fully value, granted.

Like anyone reading this, I use these reviews to put together a quick judgement about whether to buy, so when I saw this book for £2.99 (on iBooks) after reading many reviews here, I quickly parted with my cash. iBooks and Kindle are quite clever in the fact that they have seldom have one book by an author at a lower rrp that the others. The idea to grab the readers attention and to part with more money after loving the first book. That is exactly what happened here.

This book is my stand-out of 2013, granted I have mainly been reading accounting books for my studies, so competition has been sparse but having an antihero main character such as Victor is quite the draw. Some aspects in the book the reader may well be shocked at, even a little annoyed that you are cheering him on but then we have the subtle humour that reminds you "yeh this assassin - good guy".

Having this book on my phone is a bit of a catch 22 as you can read it any time and believe me, you'll want to be reading it at all times. Apparently during a boring meeting with the excuse "apologies, I was catching up on e-mails" isn't the ideal moment.

It's a great book, written at an unreal pace and clever in the detail.

I enjoy decent British authors such as Stephen Leather, Simon Kernick, Mark Billingham and more recently Howard Linskey but Tom Wood is emerging as my favourite author and I genuinely can't wait for his next book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback