Customer Discussions > The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas forum

dangerous historical inaccuracy

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 26-32 of 32 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 8 Dec 2010 21:41:58 GMT
How right you are, Fred. And how frightening that children take this novel as fact. Drum it into them, teachers, that the Shoah was so terrible that NO book could give it a true picture.

M.Helen Ferrieux

Posted on 4 Feb 2011 21:54:04 GMT
A. J. Kane says:
I've never actually commented on a thread on Amazon before but this discussion has left me with a strong desire to add my two pennies worth:)

I'm a secondary school English teacher. As part of that role i feel it is important for me to read books aimed at children and teenagers so i that i can recommend books to students that they may like to try. I've just read what i wrote and that sounds very worthy! The fact is there's such great literature aimed at teens these days and i enjoy reading it.

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas struck me as a strange book - neither fish nor foul. I didn't feel that the voice of the child narrator was particularly convincing and the whole novel felt rather episodic to me. I obviously don't know what the author was hoping to achieve when writing this book. However, if he was attempting to show the true horror of the war through contrast with Bruno's innocent lack of understanding of the events around him, then he did so with limited success. I don't believe that he was deliberately attempting to whitewash events but i do feel that his writing skills were not up to the task he set himself. I think you get more out of this book and Bruno's limited narrative voice if you know your history.