Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2013
Very solid build, two USB ports at the back, so you don't lose a USB, large enough for 17.3" laptop easily, very very quiet.. in fact I've never heard it, as my laptop's fan is always on high due to my config, even with laptop in S3 sleep state, I can barely hear it,

the top plate that the laptop rests on is made of metal mesh, so that helps with cooling, but.. for me the fan could be a bit more powerful, but it is on par with the Targus Lap Chill Mat 17-inch in terms of power, and I think when I ran tests with Speedfan, a mini soak test sort of thing, with CPU at 100% for 5mins, running virus scans, HD films, Etc., it did help keep things cooler by 1 - 2.5C on average.
It also has a power level adjust at the back, though I don't really see the point as it is so quiet even on max. The Targus on the other hand was quite noisy!

Perfect if you ever want to use your laptop on the floor carpet, duvet, etc. It is high enough that you need not worry leaving the laptop unattended on the bed for a few hours, not that that is recommended at all, is still a bit of a fire hazard!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
The build quality is above average, reasonably solid and my Asus sits nicely on it with good grip. The fan does not produce a gale force wind. I never expected it to as I just wanted a gentle breeze to cool down the laptop a bit. Hence the one fan. It cools down the laptop adequately and does it at a very low noise level using just 0.3Amp from the USB port. The good thing is that it lifts the laptop up and always ensure there is good clearance at the base now. It's not uncomfortable when it's on my lap with the laptop on top as it is not too heavy. Overall, for this price of just of 20 quid, it is a good product from Zalman, certainly better than many of the un-branded products.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
The whole cooler has no proper structure to handle the weight of a 17" laptop. Basically as weight is placed upon the cooler, the metal cooling pad bends a bit down, pushing the vent down with it, to the bottom of the cooler. Where the fan meets the bottom.

TAK-TAK-TAK.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
It is easily large enough for a 17" laptop and is reasonably robust, with a variable fan speed and an extra USB port so you don't waste a port powering the cooler. Unfortunately the fan is a bit of a let down, you'd probably get more airflow by using an asthmatic hamster after a lengthy session on the wheel on the lowest setting, and the highest setting is more like an asthmatic guinea pig.

It may knock off a degree or so but it isn't really worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
needed a larger cooler for a new 17 inch laptop ive just bought this cooler dose the job very nicely handles any laptop up to 17 inches
with room to spare for maybe 18.50 ins models fan speed certainly chucks enough cool air under the laptop keeping heat levels well under the norm will recommend to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Absolute rubbish

1) The fan speed is a joke I might as well flap my hands around my laptop as that creates more breeze than this.

2) The fan speed slider was broken

Returned...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
Can't fault these at all have 2 of them one sitting a 17.3" laptop and the other a 15.6" Temps drop around 10C on average when on low speed and you can't hear the fan at all or a slight hum in a quiet room.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Recently bought a second hand HP DV7 4045e 17 inch laptop running Windows 7 from Ebay. While linked to the mains and playing Minecraft the metal keyboard surround felt very warm to the touch. I then installed software to display the CPU and GPU temperatures, at idle temps were 45 to 50, while on Minecraft 70 to 75. This was too hot for long term reliability in my opinion. Opinions on the effectiveness of laptop coolers seemed to be mixed, however i decided to buy one and see. The Zalman ZM-NC11 looked good, was the large enough, has a large quiet fan (which i can confirm) and was well priced. Once in use the Temps at idle were perhaps 2 degrees cooler however under load the temperatures while playing Minecraft reduced by 10 degrees. This was an excellent result and will hopefully help keep the laptop reliable for years to come. Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Not only is the build quality ABYSMAL but I had to manually tweak it as it couldn't take the weight of a normal 15" laptop causing the fan to scrape across the mesh guard. Absolutely awful.

Even when it does work as described the heat mitigation is akin to blowing on the processor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Great looks and smashing performance. One thing I have to point out is the size of that thing... It's massive... I do not consider it a minus but some people might... Building quality is very high standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)