Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now
£2.75 + £1.26 UK delivery
In stock. Sold by shakedownrecords

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Sold by: music_by_mail_uk
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Young Bud Original recording remastered

Price: £2.75
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by shakedownrecords.
7 new from £2.75 4 used from £2.74
£2.75 In stock. Dispatched from and sold by shakedownrecords.

Amazon's Bud Powell Store

Visit Amazon's Bud Powell Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Oct. 1999)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Indigo
  • ASIN: B00000JHD6
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 579,010 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. You Talk A Little Trash
  2. Floogie Boo
  3. I Don't Know
  4. Gotta Do Some War Work
  5. My Old Flame
  6. Sweet Lorraine
  7. Echoes Of Harlem
  8. Honeysuckle Rose
  9. Blue Garden Blues
  10. Jay Bird
  11. Jay Bird (Alternate Take)
  12. Coppin' The Bop
  13. Jay Jay
  14. Mad Bebop
  15. I'll Remember April
  16. Indiana
  17. Somebody Loves Me
  18. I Should Care
  19. Bud's Bubble
  20. Off Minor
  21. Nice Work If You Can Get It
  22. Everything Happens To Me

Product Description Review

What an intelligent idea it was to root around in the archives of 1940s recordings to find these examples of Powell's art. There are eight tracks by his first trio (1947) that are essential and familiar listening, but it is the eight rare tracks by Cootie Williams's Sextet of 1944 and the five by J.J. Johnson's Beboppers in 1946 that are the discoveries here. Powell was 20 when he made the tracks with trumpeter Williams, and his piano shows great authority, easily leading Williams, altoist Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson and tenorist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis through a varied programme that includes an evocative version of Williams's "Echoes Of Harlem". J.J. Johnson was a more fiery trombonist in the early days than one remembers and these recordings with Powell and Max Roach have weathered well. The trio tracks with Curly Russell and Max Roach changed the face of jazz piano forever and every note of them must be etched on the memories of all the other jazz pianists of the time. Each deserves an essay on its own. No room for that, but if you hear "Bud's Bubble" you'll want to buy the album. --Steve Voce

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category