Year of the Tiger and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Year of the Tiger has been added to your Basket
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Books2Help
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Please note our prices are based on demand, not actual retail price. Some of our books may be ex library, and may show some signs of age, use etc. The cover may differ from the one shown. For every book sold we donate to local based charities.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Year of the Tiger Paperback – 26 Apr 2012

35 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.99
£0.01 £0.01
£6.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (26 April 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007453191
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007453191
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,397,630 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

‘A compelling debut that takes you deep into the dangerous, complicated heart of modern China, with a tough and appealing heroine in Ellie’ Jeff Abbott, author of FEAR

‘Lisa Brackman’s novel gets off to a fast start and never lets up…Ellie is a perfect spunky heroine…Be prepared for a wild ride’ New York Times Book Review

‘An electrifying debut … The China scenes are fast paced and strikingly atmospheric, and Ellie's backstory—her and Trey's return from combat is tough, sad, and endearing—is given in doses that perfectly complement the central action … The book's exotic setting and tough heroine will definitely appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson’ Publisher’s Weekly, Starred Review

‘A remarkable debut by Lisa Brackman’ Seattle Times

‘Lisa Brackman’s debut novel is as slick and smart as an alley cat … The result is a wildly original read … Even more remarkable is her enfant terrible protagonist: 26-year-old Ellie is tough, snarky and immensely likeable. Through her voice Brackman never falls into the trite and tired trap of so many foreigners who write about an ‘exotic’ China. Beijing in Year of the Tiger is as it is in real life’ Time Out: Beijing

‘A gripping ex-pat nightmare that unfolds with superb pacing … it makes you damned glad your life is boring’ Miami Herald

‘Brackman's experience in the motion picture industry is evident. A gritty and intriguing tale of terror that draws in the reader with each page; Brackman is a new writer to watch’ Library Journal

About the Author

Lisa Brackman has worked as an executive at a major motion picture studio, an issues researcher in a presidential campaign, and as the singer-songwriter & bassist in an LA rock band. She's lived and travelled extensively in China. Brackman is a southern California native and lives in Venice, CA. YEAR OF THE TIGER is her first novel.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By HJK VINE VOICE on 21 Aug. 2012
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I thought this book was an excellent thriller - full of action - never knowing who is trustworthy and who is not.

Ellie/Yili, an American, was a Medic in Iraq on a tour of duty, where she met her husband, Trey, - they later move to China and now her husband wants divorce.

The story is told by Ellie and it moves from the now, back to Iraq and then again to China.

American & Chinese agents are after her and she does not understand why.

I spent some time in China in the 90s - then mobile phones and using the internet was rare so I cannot comment on that aspect - but the descriptions of the real (not tourist China) are very good, Beijing, Xian and Chungdu and the train journeys are as I remember them - the dust, dirt & smells are all there - and this for me made the novel even more interesting - as a foreigner one always felt "alone" and "watched" - so this novel feels it could be real.

One is still left wondering EXACTLY who the good/bad guys were and this uncertainty sends little shivers down ones spine!

An excellent read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Maria TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 24 July 2012
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Ellie/Yili has spent the past 2 years in China after some tough years in the aftermath of her stationing as a medic with the US army in Iraq. She is finally starting to move on with a lover, basic language skills, good friends amongst both the expat and Chinese communities, and less pain from the physical and emotional scars she got in Iraq.

And then her lover disappears and she must not only try to find him but also try to save herself as both American and Chinese agents seem to have taken a sudden interest in her and it is not clear whether it is related to what she accidentally discovered in Iraq or whether it is to do with his disappearance.

The main story is spiced up with flashbacks from her time in Iraq and - interestingly - a virtual reality where she might be able to get help to find her lover by people that are too scared to come out in real life.

The story itself is maybe a bit convoluted, but the energetic and exotic setting is extremely well done with a fantastic sense of atmosphere. She clearly knows the place and customs and she doesn't fall into the usual trap of having to explain every little detail to the reader. I could mention 20+ places in the book where you just can't help nodding and smiling as she describes a situation but the one that stands out right now is at the expat bar where she sits with the British bartender, his wife, and two Norwegian backpackers after a drinks-fuelled evening and the backpackers voice their well-used but not fully rounded arguments on American imperialism and the bartender looks like he'd rather drown himself than be in the middle of the situation. I don't know how many times I've witnessed that particular talk at the end of a night - and, to my shame, I'm even sure I've given it a few times - but it hasn't changed much over the years :)

All in all a very good summer read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Gill VINE VOICE on 22 July 2012
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
Ellie McEnroe is a former US medic who was injured, both mentally and physically, while completing a tour of duty in Iraq. Her marriage fell apart - her husband Trey all but abandoned her for another woman (who he has since married) and she's trying to put her life back together piece by piece while living with her "sometimes lover",an artist named Lao Zghang,in China. Shortly after meeting a guest, Hashim - an Uigher - for a few moments in Zghang's flat one day, her lover vanishes. Ellie finds herself in a dangerous position and a person of interest to both US mercenaries and Chinese agents. On the run she must try to figure out who she can trust between the artists, "men in suits" and a mysterious organisation which appears to be her ally but who hide behind, and communicate through, an online game. Reliant on a dwindling supply of Percocet for her physical pain, never mind the PTSD, the reader is given an insight into Ellie's past through flashbacks to her time in Iraq which mingle with and part explain the present day.
One of the strengths of Lisa Brackmans writing is her description and detail of life and living in China. Clearly very knowledgable and enthusiastic about the whole culture, she has woven an incredibly vivid backdrop for this thriller which moves quickly between the ancient culture of China right up to present day internet communities. Totally captivating from start to finish I enjoyed the character of Ellie who seemed real and believable though a bit irritating and lacklustre at times.
Year of the Tiger would make a great movie and I would like to see more of Ellie in a future Lisa Brackman novel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By M. E. Wilson on 29 April 2012
Format: Paperback
In YEAR OF THE TIGER, Lisa Brackman creates a very realistic world, peopled by characters you'd swear live and breathe. The protagonist, Ellie, is flawed. She's not the typical, perfect heroine, always coming out on top. In fact, she drifts and runs, stumbling from one moment to the next, questioning everything around her, including her own motives. I like that. It's a fresh approach and was a pleasant surprise.

Another thing Brackman does brilliantly is to make modern China come alive. I had a very real sense of each locale as a place, with the little touches that brought each place to life for me. I could see these places in my imagination and I also like that a lot.

The plot is taut and while Ellie is unsure of what is going on, Brackman is not and brings us unerringly to a realistic and satisfying conclusion.

I highly recommend this novel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback