Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

More Options
See larger image


12 May 2014 | Format: MP3

£5.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for £7.99 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Sąrl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to Amazon.co.uk (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 9 May 2014
  • Release Date: 12 May 2014
  • Label: EPIC/MJJ
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 34:01
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00JDX348U
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (465 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 10,447 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

61 of 67 people found the following review helpful By Tom Hughes on 13 May 2014
Format: Audio CD
If you have ever liked Michael Jackson's music then this album is simply a must purchase, especially in the deluxe format as the originals are in most cases far better than anything Timberland, Dark Child or Rodney Jerkins can remix.

The opener "Love Never Felt So Good" is a classic, feel good Jackson soul ballad. It is a beautiful song that could have easily been added to "Off the Wall" or "Thriller" as a single, it is that strong.

Another gem is "Loving you" which in remixed form on the standard album sounds well done as an up-tempo dance up and in the context of the album really injects some pace. However Michael's synth driven original is a slow paced "Bad" era ballad that is one the most uplifting, touching songs he has ever written. It is also quite personal and written in the first person, which is actually quite rare for any Jackson song post Bad, as lyrics started to become more impersonal and paranoid.

Chicago is a smooth modern take on the Liberian Girl theme from Bad but with less of the magical visceral fantasy imagery that astounded much of his best work. Another song that struggles for this reason is "Do You Know Where Your Children Are" which is more of a statement of concern than a well crafted piece of pop.

Blue Gangsta and A Place with No Name (especially the acoustic, western inspired deluxe original version) are other high points in a album that is successful on so many levels. Considering how it has been constructed with many different producers over such a protracted time frame it is incredible how complete and diverse it actually feels.
Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mr Baz #1 REVIEWER#1 HALL OF FAME on 17 May 2014
Format: MP3 Download
Xscape should be seen a bit differently to the rushed cash in that "Michael" was (though there were a few songs on that which made it worth investigating)

First off a lot more attention has gone into the production of these songs, and whilst you can never have the "real Michael Jackson" touch only he could add, it does feel as if care was put into this second posthumous release.

A few track highlights for me include:

- Love Never Felt So Good, a catchy upbeat number harking back to the days of post off the wall/Thriller time period evidently dug from the files around 1983, it's a simple yet enjoyable song that captures the disco feel of Jackson well. Both versions are interesting the original with a piano backing and the disco beat version

- Loving You, another straight forward song from the "Bad" studio sessions, strong vocal performance from Jackson and a pleasing melody and topped with the MJ happy era singing style, one of the stronger titles on the album

- A Place With No Name, a reworked new lyrics version of the well known "Horse With No Name" from the 70's band America. I was never a fan of the drawn out original, however Jackson injects vocal power and talent into the song and leaves the Dewey Bunnell original looking lazy and tired..a surprisingly good song.

- Xscape the album title song, is a good vocal test song with Jackson's harsher sounding voice with a real edge to it, but the re-worked version injects the bite needed to pull it off. I prefer the new produced version on this with the extra backing and editing. This is a good example of considered skilful production; taking MJ's cutting vocals and surrounding them with the beef needed to deliver a finished song.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful By Jack on 12 May 2014
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Brilliant. Just brilliant. 8 songs unreleased remastered, and on the deluxe addition, the originals. Track by track review :

Track 1 Love Never Felt So Good:.. An 80s disco vibe, amongst crackling vocals. Love Never Felt So Good was recorded in the 80s, and should've been released in the 80s too. 10-10

Track 2 Chicago:.. Michael sings in a low chord during the verses, before unleashing regret and angst in the chorus. About a girl who was already married.10-10

Track 3 Loving You:.. Another one with an 80s vibe, a love song yet more "poppy" that a ballad would be. 10-10

Track 4 A Place With No Name:.. Using a sample from "A Horse With No Name" comes A Place With No Name. Superb. 10-10

Track 5 Slave To The Rythm:.. A funky disco groove getting at women being treated worse than men. 10-10

Track 6 Do You Know Where Your Children Are:.. About a girl who runs away from her abusing stepdaddy, only to resort to prostitution. A few hehes and you have a song!!! 9-10

Track 7 Blue Gangsta:.. About a girl who makes him angry. Worth noting that his vocal performance is outstanding. 10-10

Track 8 Xscape:.. Another disco groove. Probably the poorest on the album but hey. 8-10...

Gotta get it!!!

Deluxe edition is the way to go. Includes :

A cool poster of MJ,

All songs in their original forms aswell as the remastered versions,

A DVD Documentary on how the album was made,

A booklet of all the songs' lyrics,

And the hit, Love Never Felt So Good remixed with MJ and Justin Timberlake. Two pop stars, great song.

My personal standout tracks are "Chicago" "Slave To The Rythm" "Blue Gangsta" and "Love Never Felt So Good'..

So all in all. GET ITTTTT!!!!!!
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category