Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
124
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2012
The Xenta 5.1 speaker system is simply amazing. From its matt black finish to its powerful bass and surround, it brings a new dimension to the way you watch TV to the depth of your music. Ive been testing this system for 5 days and I am very, very impressed. First off, this piece of equipment is very aesthetically pleasing. Ive placed it next to my television and it doesnt look out of place.

The subwoofer:
The sub delivers clear and powerful bass through a rectangular air outlet through the medium of bass reflex. The 10 Watt 4 inch subwoofer gives a cinematic rumble when watching films and playing games and can be adjusted to be independantly via an infrared remote control. When listening to music, the subwoofer may become a bit distorted at extremely loud volumes, but otherwise is perfectly fine and gives you a 360 surround of music.

Satellite speakers:
These are small but they do pack quite a punch. They can be positioned around the room but the surround speakers are a bit short of wire. Beforehand I purchased RCA extensions, but found out the wires have bare connections to the back of the subwoofer through crocodile clips. I recommend getting at least 5 metres of audio cable and then extending the wires yourself. The crocodile connector also mean you can connect more than one speaker to each port. For the front speakers you may wish to buy some better satellites since the fronts ones are the same as all the rest and are quite small and tinny. Im using an ACME 2.0 system.

Remote control:
This gives you control over separate attributes of the sound system. Although there are buttons which say FRONT which are there to adjust the front speakers, mine dopnt work, but you can configure the other volumes to achieve the same result. You can adjust the central, surround and subwoofer to your liking. The remote control only seems to work when you point it directly into the infrared port, not the local area.

Surround sound:
You can switch from Dolby Pro-Logic surround to just the front two satellites and the subwoofer.

Placement? Its best if you place the subwoofer on the ground so that you can feel the rumble and also so the subwoofer uses the ground to generate a little bass. However, a wooden TV table will do just as well.

If you buy extra satellite speakers you can also increase the number of speakers you connect to the system. If you connect 2 more speakers it may look like a 7.1 system but will still be a 5.1 system.

Thanks for reading my review. I have posted a video on YouTube reviewing this system. If you wish, type [TheDAllenShow Xenta] into the YouTube search box.
44 comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
great surround sound system excellent value for money installed instantly in the front room on our 42" TV and works great
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
i have come to the assumption that these REVIEWERS know naff-all about speaker systems or tech in general. yes the instructions are a little vague, but its like moaning about your tv instructions not telling you how to plug in a scart lead and change channels!!!! its rediculous!!!!

basically this item is a black box (subwoofer) with 5 speakers. plugging the speakers in should be simple enough, so ill move on to the controls and inputs etc.
the back has 2 sets of inputs, one called DVD and has 6 connections, and the other called AUX and has 2 connections.
now i dont know much about the DVD connections so i cant help on that in afraid, but the AUX i know very well. now considering a majority of people will be using this to add a little oomph to there HDTV via a PS3 or XBOX360 etc, its very simple to set up. just connect your audio leads like the3.5mm Jack to 2 x RCA Phono Audio Cable Gold 10m Lead or something along those lines (different devices may need other types of cables/attachments) into the AUX inputs.
then on either the remote control or side panel, you press SOURCE to change it to the aux channel, then press PRO-LOGIC to activate all 5 speakers!!!!

its so bloody simple i dont get why people struggle with it!?

for an example of a set up ill tell you how mine is done=
*ps3 with 'hdmi cable' connected from ps3 to tv.
*a 'ps2/ps3 av to rca cable' connected fron the ps3 av port to the AUX port of the Xenta sound system.
*on the ps3 menu, go to sound settings, change output from HDMI to SCART/AV MULTI and bingo!!! all set.

the procedure is similar with xbox360, dvd players or bluray players, OR you could just plug the sound system straight into the tv/monitor with the '3.5 jack to rca cable' i mentioned earlier, its entirely up to you. im not sure about pcs but i cant see it being too challenging!!!

OH AND OF COURSE THE ACTUAL SYSTEM ITSELF IS FINE. GOOD SOUND QUALITY AND ALL THAT, NO COMPLAINTS!!!
33 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
Very good buy, the other two who wrote a review probably didn't find the button to activate all speakers xD. You need to tweak the base or it sound quite tinny.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
This is a brilliant surround sound system, the sound coming out from it is amazing and for the price you can't fault the product.
There are plenty of people slating these speakers, the truth behind that is they are idiots, and can barely wire a plug. To get true surround sound from a pc to these speakers you need a 5.1 surround sound card and some appropriate leads, and to get the 5.1 from an xbox, playstation, sky box or what ever you have connected via hdmi you need a splitter the one I use is

http://www.amazon.co.uk/LingsFire%C2%AE-Extractor-Splitter-Headphone-Blue-Ray/dp/B00S68OZXG/ref=pd_sim_sbs_23_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=0CEF7VGA11F3M9DF1PAD

this is cheap and effective you use a hdmi in and out and then connect the correct cables from the splitter to the sub, easy!

Ignore anyone saying that these don't work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
I have given four stars has i have not tested the device yet. it looks good all part in the description everything arrived in good time. I will be looking for some adaptation for the cable fitting I got this for my computer but the pins are to big for my sound card sockets so still waiting to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
product is good, the sub woofer tends to get distorted when its very loud... after i bought it for £30 found it for £20 elsewhere, so people shop around
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I bought these for the BF he is an avid gamer and well i decided they were reasonably priced and had good reviews and specs, he loved them says they are brilliant and that they are easy to setup, they arrived at the beginning of the delivery estimate in good packaging and undamaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
Don't lissen to the bad reviews. These are some of the beast speakers you can buy. They are well worth the money. Personally I love them they go very well with my 130" (screen) home cinema system!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
i love this its very loud loud enough for me works very well with my lg tv and iam very happy with this
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 25 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.