Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars139
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2001
I love Xanadu for sheer nostalgic value. I remember seeing it on my friend's dad's toploading video after school one day. From that day on we'd replay the scenes of the muses coming to life, Sonny throwing himself at that wall and all the roller skating sequences (even though we had none!) Olivia Newton John was the woman we wanted to grow up to be! Her voice is amazing and best of all, the whole soundrack is great, if you like ELO then that's a good enough reason to watch it anyway.... I love it to bits!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
I first saw this on terrestial TV, spring 1985 and felt uplifted.
Xanadu the song always sounds great so I got this DVD after I bought
the soundtrack album.
I had been researching about angels for weeks after my mum passed
away in August 2014,
and the muses awakening at the beginning of the film to ELO's " I'm Alive "
just looks and feels so angelic.
The story of the film is very heart warming as Sonny (Michael Beck)
teams up with Danny (Gene Kelly)my [ Mum's favourite actor ]
to create a union of past, present and future at a revamped derelict building
renamed Xanadu.
They both find they have so much in common, but it takes some prompting
from Kira (Olivia Newton-John) to get them to unite and fulfill their dreams.
Quite a lot of different fashion styles and music tracks are crammed into the
96 min of the film but it makes it so enjoyable.
Pictures of people on wall come to life (I'm Alive) or real life people turn into
Disney like animation (Don't Walk Away) - inspiration for Aha perhaps.
Lovable muse traverses time and space to inspire artist and fall in love
followed by main film song topping the UK charts - Mannequin tried that
format and bingo !
Boy meets girl from totally different backgrounds and love conquers all -
This movie just feels so TITANIC.
Xanadu is no Citizen Kane, but who cares because at the heart of it all
is an exploration of the human condition.
It's all about the spirit of dreams and the spirit of love and that tops any
plot any time.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2003
For pure escapism and no-brain entertainment, this is a great film ! Like an earlier reviewer, I saw this first when I was very young and it's a film I have returned to again and again becasue it is so light and fluffy ! It is real nostalgia ( the clothes ! The hair ! ), and I would recommend it to anyone who was young in the 80's especially if you were a BIG fan of Kids From Fame - it's the same kind of upbeat, always a happy ending kinda thing.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

“Xanadu” arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The transfer really showed its age (1980). Colours showed good saturation and vibrance. There is a thick layer of grain. There are some details. Overall, it is still a pleasant presentation. (3/5)

AUDIO:

“Xanadu” skates onto blu-ray with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio soundtrack. All the songs are well presented with clarity and good beat, plus a wide sound-stage and ample surround support. Dialogue is clearly heard. The musical score by Barry DeVorzon was very good. To hear all the songs by Olivia Newton-John and Electric Light Orchestra is worth the price of admission. (4/5)

MOVIE:

The Greek muses incarnate themselves on Earth to inspire men to achieve. One of them, incarnated as a girl named Kira (Olivia Newton-John), encounters an artist named Sonny Malone (Michael Beck). With the help of Danny McGuire (Gene Kelly), a man Kira had inspired forty years earlier, Sonny builds a huge disco roller rink. The songs in the movie include:
01 Magic – Olivia Newton John (US 1(4)/1980; UK 32/1980)
02 Suddenly – Olivia Newton John & Cliff Richard (Michael Beck’s singing voice in the movie was dubbed by Cliff Richard)(US 20/1980; UK 15/1980)
03 Dancin’ – Olivia Newton-John & the Tubes
04 Suspended in Time – Olivia Newton-John
05 Whenever You’re Away From Me – Olivia Newton-John & Gene Kelly (b-side to “Xanadu”)
06 I’m Alive – Electric Light Orchestra (US 15/1980; UK 20/1980)
07 The Fall – Electric Light Orchestra
08 Don’t Walk Away – Electric Light Orchestra (UK 21/1980)
09 All Over The World – Electric Light Orchestra (US 13/1980; UK 11/1980)
10 Xanadu – Olivia Newton-John & Electric Light Orchestra (US 8/1980; UK 1(2)/1980)
Movie: (3/5)

TRIVIA:

1 Did you know that Olivia Newton-John fractured her coccyx while filming the dance sequence "Suddenly"?
2 Andy Gibb was original cast to play Sonny.
3 This was Gene Kelly’s final feature film.
4 Olivia Newton-John met Matt Lattanzi, who had a minor role, during filming (as a young Danny McGuire and one of the Xanadu dancers). Afterward, Lattanzi accompanied Newton-John to Australia on a promotional visit for Xanadu (1980), and met her parents. They married in 1984, had one child, Chloe Lattanzi, and divorced in 1995.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Finally, Xanadu is released on blu-ray. Even with just average video, but to watch a young beautiful Olivia Newton-John and hear all those pop tunes in HD is worth the price of admission. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
Xanadu is the perfect film for those who love the style and glamour of 1940s musicals and wish that they still made films like that these days. Not goofy, wimpy, or silly, Xanadu was a chance for Olivia Newton John to shine in the kind of film she was made for; she is perfectly cast as the muse. As for Gene Kelly, he may have been older, but in this film he still managed to demonstrate not only his dancing abilities, but his sheer class. He really was in a league of his own. Add to this combination a fantastic soundtrack by Olivia and the ELO, and you've got the perfect feel good film. No violence or politics, just music, dancing, and to add a touch of 1980, rollerskating. Fab.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 November 2015
Xanadu is a 1980 American musical fantasy. The title is a reference to the nightclub in the film, which takes its name from Xanadu the summer capital of Kublai Khan.

Well the ingredients were there, the beautiful Olivia Newton-John, the Hollywood dance legend Gene Kelly, and it’s a Hollywood musical. But sadly Xanadu is not a great movie, yet it somehow ends up touching you with the madness of it all. It's an amazing party movie, filled with laugh-out-loud moments and great dance and musical numbers.

The music from the film was hugely successful with a high calibre list of artistes such as Olivia, ELO, Cliff Richard and Gene Kelly and soared to the top of the charts upon release in many countries all around the world.

The story is a reworking of an old Rita Hayworth film called Down To Earth. The plot concerns a down on his luck artist, Sonny who is about to give up his dreams of opening a nightclub. Enter the beautiful mysterious Kira (on roller-skates!) and everything starts to take a turn for the better. He meets an older man and together the two collaborate in opening the most fantastic night club on earth.

This film followed Olivia’s great success in ‘Grease’ and unfortunately our expectations were just too high at the time. Funnily enough the film has gained in popularity over the years and is now seen in a much more positive light.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
So fantastic to have this on Blu Ray finally. (Region Free)
Fab colours and sound quality.
Only downfall Universal haven't put any of the highly sought after extra features fan's are desperate to own in good quality onto the disc, special
features are pretty poor and lack of.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2000
The story is a reworking of an old Rita Hayworth film called Down To Earth,but don't hold that against it.The plot concerns a down on his luck artist,Sonny who is about to give up his dreams of opening a nightclub and settle for a real 9 to 5 job.Enter the beautiful mysterious girl,Kira, on rollerskates...(it was the early 80's after all) and SUDDENLY Sonny's life takes a turn for the better.He meets an older man who knows the regret of giving up on your dreams.Together the two collaborate in opening the most fanastic club on earth.With an amazing collection of songs performed by Olivia Newton John and ELO and the last time to see veteran Gene Kelly strutting his stuff,this 90 minutes gallops along.If you can stand the dull dialogue in the early scenes this film is wholesome family entertainment.It was unfairly dismissed on it's release as expectations for Olivia's films were so high after Grease and as MAGIC as Xanadu is,it is a completely different animal.More sophisticated, more eclectic and more visionary.There are a legion of Xanadu fans ALL OVER THE WORLD and many web pages dedicated to it.An annual convention is in the planning stages for the 20th Anniversary in August so get your copy now and brush up on those dance moves.Better still,dig your rollerskates out and give them a good dusting down.I hope all those who felt disappointment at this film's treatment back in 1980 can take some heart in the love held for it today.We are forever SUSPENDED IN TIME in XANADU!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 September 2015
I can safely say that many men back in the 80's(I was one) was in love with Olivia Newton-John she is just beautiful, and she was a ideal girl to bring home to meet your parents(had many dreams), and i remember I fell in love with her when I seen her in Xanudu.

But what I love the most about this film was the soundtrack by "ELO" which was just awesome, I mean the opening song when the girls came alive from the painting plus the ending theme with the opening of the night club was just stunning. Top film, and hopefully a Blu-ray release soon.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
The songs are great ,Olivia is gorgeous and it has Gene Kelly in it too!!,what more do you want.Slated by the high brow critics in many film reviews i've read but I don't care I just love this movie from start to finish,The title song is a 80s classic and the ELO tracks(especially im alive) are great too,its all light fantasy ,don't expect anything deep but if light pop breeziness is your thing then get aboard for a charming nostalgic ride that you wont regret.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)