Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£10.04

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2013
I am midway through the book at the moment but I can already tell that it is a great piece of work. The language and the style make it easy to understand all the concepts shown in the book. Up to date examples is another great feature. I know that writing a decent screenplay is extremely difficult but this book will surely give anyone a sure ground to start from.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Hauge manages to excellently transfer his knowledge onto the reader. The layout is so well structure which makes it enjoyable to follow let alone read. The examples used in the book make it easy to contextualize all the concepts and ideas, and once he has been through the story concept, character development, structure and scene writing with you, Hauge, brilliantly, will then examine and analyse the most commercially successful film of all time in order to show you how all these concepts of screenwriting are put in to use and prove to you that yes, they do actually work. It is the only book you would need to learn to write screenplays effectively. A must-have for any screenplay writer, especially a beginner.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I bought this to read alongside an OU course (A363) and so glad I did as it is so informative and easy to understand. I do wish the author hadn't had decided to remove the section on formatting though as this would have been useful, but still a fantastic book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Brilliant editing tool and for helping authors get to the heart of their story. In my opinion, best used once the first draft is written.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Some of the books available focus on structuring the screenplay, but this is difficult when you're trying to establish the flow of the events. You need to think creatively for that. This book does not ignore structure, but puts it in perspective.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
This is a really valuable reference, not only for the screenwriter but also for the novelist. It gives practical advice on how to pace a story and control the suspense for best effect. Some might complain of it being formulaic, but it works for me. Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Brilliant exercises and ideas. Truly inspiring. I will have this book by my side whenever I start on a new script or get stuck along the way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
This is a very good book and enormously helpful. I refer to it inwardly whenever I write.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
It's written by someone who is a giant in the industry and has done it all. And it's easy to read and understand
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
One of the best books on screenwriting. 2 thums up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)