Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars676
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£18.11+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 22 March 2014
With Pixar supremo John Lasseter overseeing production Wreck it Ralph was always going to be a quality product. However with Pixar's last few offerings (Cars 2, Brave and Monsters University) all getting mixed reviews, there was a feeling that another listless offering was on the cards. Well I was so wrong. Wreck it Ralph is supremely entertaining for children of all ages and of course for all those mums and dads out there who remember playing Super Mario Bros, Tomb Raider, and Sonic The Hedgehog till the early hours in the eighties and nineties.

With an extremely engaging and likeable main character, Ralph of the title is a video game "bad guy" who really wants to be a "good guy". When he finds himself given the opportunity to become a good guy he grasps it with both of his huge hands and sets off on an adventure of self discovery.

With obvious parallels with Toy Story (electronic toys other than real ones) this could have been just Toy Story 4 with another name. However the writer and director have produced a stand alone movie that has enough uniqueness to make it one of the best GCI "kids Movies" ever made. There is enough slapstick humour for the kids and plenty of adult references to keep the adults happy. The story may be a bit cut and paste from other movies but so what. There is hardly anything out there that is totally unique, and this remember is mass market stuff, so a little leeway is acceptable.

The animation is second to non and is on a par with Pixar, the attention to detail is staggering. Every time my three year old sits down to watch I see something new, or an old video game character in the background. There are quite a few.

With it's critical and commercial success it looks like we will be seeing a sequel shortly. Let's hope that it's not rushed through production by Disney as Wreck it Ralph could very well become a franchise with a series of films to come if the sequel keeps up the quality. Ralph could become as famous as Woody and Buzz Lightyear given time and enough care. Let's hope Disney see the long haul and not just $ signs.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'WECOME TO GAME 'WORLD'
when you've finished playing and have gone to bed the game character's
come out to play.
'Ralph' has been a bad boy for 30 years, he see's 'Felix' ( will fix it )
from the same game receive medal after medal for being good, repairing that
which 'Ralph' has 'wrecked'
30 years with no friends, no medals, 'Ralph' craves both, and will do just
about anything to get noticed for being 'good' even if it means joining a
different game to do so.
along the way he will meet many new faces and yes he'll find a real friend,
and will learn being 'bad' is sometimes 'good'
'Disney' have entertained generation after generation for as long as most
can remember, pleased to say the 'Disney' studio continues to do so.
wonder what 'Walt' would have made of the 'digital' age in which we now live,
my guess is he would have embraced it.
'Wreck it Ralph' .......great family viewing for all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Ralph is the bad guy in a vintage arcade game.

He has to live on the rubbish dump and is envious of the other characters in the game.

What can he do ? Change his ways ... with unforeseen circumstance.

Anyone who frequented video arcades in the 80's this will bring back some great memories .... for the rest it's also a great family film with a few twists and turns in the plot.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
A superb effort from Disney proving that its not only Pixar leading their dominance in animation. Filled with wonderful, colourful characters and some fantastic nods to games old and new, Wreck It Ralph is a joy.

As always the story is a simple one. Mis-understood lug (Ralph) decides to leave his comfort zone and head off to prove that he is more than just a video game baddie. Fed up of Fix it Felix getting all the glory he decides its time he got himself a medal. On his journey he meets a young girl desperate to compete in a race but can't get past the nefarious King Candy's watchful eye. Suffice to say after a few mishaps along the way they learn to work out the problems at hand and overcome them.

The comedy's spot on and all the little nods to classic arcade games will delight the adults. The clever use of current gaming fads and the bad guys anonymous meetings brings the classic and the modern colliding together in perfect harmony.

You could spend hours just looking out for characters you remember and loved from your childhood.

The action is superbly staged with a thrilling first person shoot them up and a race across the candy coloured Sugar Rush landscape. If it all gets a bit cliched with an alien invasion at the end it can be forgiven for everything that has gone before.

The characters are loveable and energetic. The animation is crisp and suits each game scenario perfectly. A good example of this is the twitchy movements of Fix It Felix's residents, perfectly evoking the pixelated look of arcade games of the 70's and 80's.

A clever, witty film which is just as fun for adults as it is for kids.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
When I first saw that Disney was making a film based on videogames, I was conflicted. Sure, Disney have created some of the most timeless, beloved and classic movies of the past near-three-quarters of a century, but they could also screw it up horribly. And, as a gamer, I would know. This must be what Native Americans thought when they saw Pocahontas.

Fortunately, I needn't have worried. This movie almost won an Oscar for a reason, people!

Words cannot express with any genuine degree of accuracy how I feel about this movie. I only rated it five stars because that is the restriction Amazon has set; were it ten stars, I would give ten; a hundred for a hundred, etc.

I won't go into an explanation about the basic plot and setting; chances are you already know it, and, if not, you can go find it in any other review. All you need to know from me is that it's a severe understatement that I completely, utterly and absolutely ADORE Wreck-It Ralph! And I whole-being-ly recommend it to absolutely everyone!!
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
To those who haven't seen the movie what I'm about to say may seem really profound but here we go. Wreck-It Ralph is not only on par with Toy Story, but I'd go as far as saying that it's the spiritual successor to the series.

Wreck-It Ralph is about Ralph, the villain to fictional game "Fix-It Felix Jr". In the world of Wreck-It Ralph, all the machines in the arcade are connected and characters can move freely from game to game once the arcade is empty and have a community of their own going on inside the games, and villains are sneered at despite not actually being bad people themselves. Ralph, tired of being treated poorly for being a villain, attempts to travel to another game in order to acquire a medal (something which symbolises heroism in his game) in order to gain the respect of the other characters. Though the plot may seem simple at first, there are a few underlining sub-plots that are implemented at a pace I'd say is well timed and easy to follow, such as the story of "Going Turbo". I'd give you more of an overview, but I feel that'd just spoil the experience.

In my eyes Wreck-It Ralph is everything an animated film should be, having easily empathisable characters, punchy humour, and a masterfully created world. The fictional games are easily identified by anyone who's seen a video game, with the Fix-It Felix machine being a typical early arcade platformer like Donkey Kong, Hero's Duty a more modern shooter, and Sugar Rush a friendly Mario-Kart style racing game. There are also some cameos from real-life games such as Q*bert, Sonic the Hedgehog, Super Mario Bros., Root Beer Tapper, and Street Fighter.

So what makes this movie the spiritual successor to Toy Story? Well, unlike the other CG attempts by Disney without Pixar, Wreck-It Ralph has at least one character we can relate to, and many more we can understand. Not to spoil the end, but even the villain(s)'s plight is understandable. Not only that but all the morals and values this movie promotes are admirable and not really something I've seen promoted in a Disney film before. Accepting responsibility, fighting through adversity, and accepting others despite their flaws. Okay, maybe they have been promoted in a Disney movie before but never quite so effectively as this.

This film is almost perfect and is missing only one thing: a sequel. Part of me wants to say I'd recommend this to kids and families, but actually there's a lot of appeal in it for teens and adults too like the multitude of video game-related humour and the characters. Overall, this is an all round feel-good movie with compelling characters, perfectly delivered humour, and a unique and interesting world. If you haven't seen this already, you should because in my eyes, it's an instant classic, and I'm sure someday we'll be watching the final sequel and bawling our eyes out like it's Toy Story 3 all over again. Wreck-It Ralph quite simply is a must-see.
88 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 June 2013
..And mine LOVE this movie.

They weren't that wow on it when I took them to the cinema to see it. But clearly it grew with repeat viewing. There are loads of other reviews here about the synopsis, and the nostalgia factor etc., but I wanted to add that - as a huge fan of moralistic CGI movies from Disney, Pixar and so on - this film boasts some of the finest vocal performances i have ever heard.

Respect to John C Reilly (Ralph) - his delivery is nothing short of perfect for me, the nuances in his performance wonderfully subtle and engaging. The characters of Venelope and King Candy also deserve special mention - terrific performances.

In terms of plot devices, the film is top-and-tailed in great style with the 'bad guys anonymous' sessions, there are some fine set pieces, and the presence of famous (to us parents at least!) arcade characters bring the depth and warmth of familiarity to a film largely peopled by all-new characters.

In summary, it's a finely crafted and well-written film-with-a-heart. It's not too cloying and it's not too clever or pleased with itself.

Top marks, Ralph.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wreak It Ralph is the next "Toy Story." It has diverse and delightful characters as it combines elements of "Tron," "Starship Troopers," and "Candyland." Ralph is a "bad guy" in a game. He wants to be a good guy and get a medal so he crosses over to another game and ends up in a third game where he meets the Vanellope whose voice is excellently portrayed by Sarah Silverman who made the film.

The film has themes of being yourself, self sacrifice, and bullying. The language is sometimes saucy such as "gutter snipe" and "pussy willow." As an adult, I enjoyed this feature. It is one you can enjoy with your kids.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
I actually brought this for a 29 year old child as well as a 4 year old. They both really enjoyed it. The storyline was original and also had a really good mix of fun and laughter but a little seriousness too. Also the 29 year old child said surprisingly parts of the story were unpredictable. So if you have small or big children I would recommend this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Another Disney classic. Growing up playing video games in the late 80's and 90's meant i appreciated this so much. There's so many little jokes that are sound effects, or clever script writing hinting at games, and it merges the games and certain aspects of my youth and childhood into a great story. But the story is the best bit. In some ways it's the same as every story, especially disney stories, and is what you expect, yet thoroughly entertaining and moving. You don't need to know the games to appreciate the jokes or enjoy this movie, although i think i appreciated it in a way that my wife and son didn't. I know my gaming friends loved it a little more than my non-gaming ones, but it's similar to Toy Story, as you can still really enjoy Toy Story but have never owned the toys. It's one of the better Disney movies, and one of the best animated movies i've seen in the last few years. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)