Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2004
Certainly worthy of a place in any self respecting library, Buchner's tale of a soldier driven mad by his cheating wife works on many levels.
Told with the minimum of stage directions, Woyzeck has been (famously) put together by various editors to meet Buchner's perceived intentions. This edition certainly reads as the definitive one, and the full and informative notes provided here help give you as much insight as you could need, and more than is probably merited for a bargain price of £3.99.
A fantastic play, full of characters and motives that are beautifully fleshed out with the maximum of subtlety and the minimum of effort, Woyzeck provides an essential antidote to the over produced plays and scripts of the modern age.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
As a student director I picked this up as a challenge and it certainly was! This chilling play is a fantastic example of some of the most cutting edge theatre of our time. Chronologically, this version makes more sense than other copies I have read, the editor has kept the play in it's unfinished state which, in my opinion, makes it all the more interesting. It is well worth a read whether or not you consider yourself a theatre buff.
*: take the time to read the editor's notes and original manuscript (at the back) rather heavy going but stick with it!
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
Of the translations that are out there, I think this one by Gregory Motton (a fantastic playwright in his own right) does the most illuminating job, keeping the play jagged and alive. Other translations tend to stem the rhythm of the dialogue within the lines. This edition also comes with a very useful introduction, so that readers can understand why other versions of the play might occur in a different order of scenes, as well as highlighting the importance of Woyzeck as a revolutionary moment of dramatic writing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Have wanted to get a copy for years - likewise wanted to see a performance and always missed out (poor availability & timetabling). So happy to receive this and enjoy. Paper quality could be better - but for the price can't quibble. Delivery and packaging all good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2009
this is a quick read, but with a twist, you never quite know which order the scenes should be in. lots of ideas and styles for studying with students, you can have great fun with this. lots of people warned me that it was difficult, maybe i'm missing something, i found it easy to read and looking for answers. get hold of the DVD it works well with the text.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
present so can't comment but good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
not the newest reclaim edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
This script arrived promptly and in excellent condition. I would definatly use amazon for this purpose again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Very quick and easy transaction. Got exactly what I asked for and it arrived really quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)