Start reading Women of a Dangerous Age on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Women of a Dangerous Age [Kindle Edition]

Fanny Blake
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (100 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £4.82 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £3.17 (40%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £4.82  
Hardcover, Large Print £20.77  
Paperback £7.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Book Description

SPECIAL LOW PRICE FOR A LIMITED PERIOD. DISCOVER THE WONDERFUL WORLD OF FANNY BLAKE.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Buchan, Elizabeth Noble and Katie Fforde this is a warm and witty novel about women, relationships and why it’s never too late to change.

Lou is married to a man who no longer loves her. It’s time to move on, to begin a new business venture and to start her life over.

To celebrate her new-found freedom, she travels to India, where, in front of the Taj Mahal, she befriends Ali after taking each other’s photographs on ‘that’ bench.

Ali is a serial mistress. But when she returns home, she discovers her latest lover is not the man she took him for. She too needs a new beginning.

As Lou and Ali put their pasts behind them, they start to discover new possibilities for life and for love, until the shocking realisation that they have far more in common than they thought.



Product Description

Review

‘Women take heart. Here is a novelist who understands exactly the comedy, absurdities and frustrations of your lives.' ELIZABETH BUCHAN

‘Realistic, funny and thoroughly delightful. I loved it.’ KATIE FFORDE

‘Fabulous female “buddy lit” … a happy, liberating read.’ DAILY MAIL

‘Here’s a novelist with a delightful, witty take on middle-aged womanhood… A delicious read.’ SAGA

About the Author

Fanny Blake was a publisher for many years, editing both fiction and non-fiction before becoming a freelance journalist and writer. She has written various non-fiction titles, acted as ghost writer for a number of celebrities, and is also Books Editor of Woman & Home magazine. Women of a Dangerous Age is the follow up to her first novel What Women Want.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 542 KB
  • Print Length: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Blue Door (26 April 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007359136
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007359134
  • ASIN: B006I1CCUQ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (100 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #33,816 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Fanny Blake was a publisher for many years, editing both fiction and non-fiction before becoming a freelance journalist and writer. She has written various non-fiction titles, acted as ghost writer for a number of celebrities, and is also Books Editor of Woman & Home magazine. She has written four novels, including Women of a Dangerous Age and With a Friend Like You.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars APPEALS TO THIS WOMAN OF A DANGEROUS AGE 22 April 2012
By Mrs. C. Swarfield TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I really enjoyed Fanny Blakes first novel and l have to say she is doing extremely well as a writer
and really hitting her stride with this book as a novelist of fabulous talent.

The plotline is amazing its a cracking story - two women meet on holiday hit it off immediately and
returning to delightful old Blighty find they have so much more in common than they could have ever
anticipated. Not in the best of ways either....
What happens next is a victory for common sense, and above all womens ability to overcome the worst
that can be thrown at them.

I absolutely love Lou, shes a good natured chaotic romantic fond of a glass of wine or three - its a
happy liberating read and l was gutted to finish it, well done l am looking forward to the next one.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! 28 April 2012
Format:Paperback
How often do you read books that make you look forward to a) your commute and b) going to bed? In my case it's almost never (especially since I hate both of those things) but, when I'm in the middle of a Fanny Blake novel, I want to go to bed early and get on the Tube for at least an hour.

Why? Because her characters feel like friends, and she really gets how important friendship is, her dialogue is spot on, almost uncannily so and I love being in the world she creates, however briefly. Most of all though, and the thing I like best, is that she has a really balanced eye for the absolute ridiculous nature of human endeavour and effort, both recognizing the importance of her characters' desires and ambitions, whilst at the same time gently mocking them in the light of the greater significance of love and relationships. If you want a book that is about real people and relationships, that explores friendship and frailty whilst being both thoughtful and funny then read this. Or the first one, What Women Want.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read 30 May 2012
By Mrs. T. SALMON TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I loved this book , I loved Lou , so much about her I found easy to identify with , as we are of the similar "dangerous age" the worries the too tight shoes , the sags and the drift downwards of the the fromer pert bits. Ali too is a character that I grew too like as you learn more about her it becomes easy to see why she led her life a serrial misstress. I will say the only thing I found a bit samey as other books is the opening of a shop selling vintage clothes , it seems to be a theme running through books of this type at the moment, not a huge problem but I just wonder why. It is nice to read one of these type of books with women of my age in rather than younger women , I would recommend for beach reading , sure to entertain and not depress
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and escapist 12 May 2012
By Roman Clodia TOP 100 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Our heroines in this book are 45 and 55 and so I was hoping for something a bit different from the ditzy girls who inhabit chick-lit - but no: apparently age doesn't stop women from strewing their huge knickers all over airport concourses, buying beautiful shoes two sizes too small so that they're crippled on big nights out, and getting drunk and waking up in bed with the wrong man.

This kind of light read depends on sympathetic heroines, and I didn't warm to either of these women. 45 year old Ali's prissy eating really irritated me (she's the sort of woman who pays nearly £50 for a hotel champagne tea then `scraped an almost invisible layer of cream onto her scone followed by an equally meagre dab of jam'); and Lou just never sounded right for a woman who'd previously had a big job on a fashion magazine.

So this is light and escapist, a bit rambling, and with no real over-arching plot - not so much chick-lit for grown-ups, as chick-lit featuring older women who still act like they're in their 20s.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By Laura T TOP 1000 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I thought this book was better in every sense than Fanny Blake's debut, 'What Women Want'; better-structured, better-written, and with much stronger, more convincing, central characters. However, I still failed to connect with it and found myself skim-reading near the end, and I'm not sure why. The plot is slightly different to the usual chick lit narrative, beginning with Lou and Ali's chance meeting during a package holiday to India. Both women are at turning points in their lives; Lou, who has three grown-up children, has just left her husband and is facing life as a single woman after several decades of marriage. Conversely, the slightly younger Ali is about to move in with her married boyfriend, who has finally decided to leave his wife, and end her career as a `serial mistress'. The women form a strong friendship, but neither could have predicted what's ahead.

I'm not entirely sure what was missing from this novel for me. Although I'm in my mid-twenties, I usually have no trouble identifying with older characters in books, and indeed it can be refreshing, especially in chick lit, to read about characters facing different dilemmas to the usual `who shall I go out with?' disaster. I've had to conclude that the writing simply wasn't pacy and gripping enough to keep me reading. Blake often devotes several pages to describing minor scenarios, such as Lou spilling something on her dress in a restaurant, or her case bursting open at the airport; perhaps these were meant to be humorous moments, but for me, they just slowed the narrative down without providing any form of comic relief.

The parallel plotlines of Lou and Ali's lives also frequently grind to a halt before sputtering into life again.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category