Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars30
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
29
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2014
I purchased this book as a follow-up to William Newton's earlier one
and have not been disappointed.The artist has an easy writing
style with several tips not found in other watercolour books.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This is an excellent watercolour book. It is so well produced and beautifully illustrated. So even looking through it is inspirational. But it also contains a lot of instruction and how to. A must for any watercolour landscape painter. I think experienced artists would learn a lot from this book and not so experienced ones would find it very useful indeed.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Brilliant, clear instructions for anyone new to water colour painting. Nice step by step guides to follow and paintings to copy, glad to own it to refer to
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 November 2013
This book covers everything you need to know about painting watercolour. From the materials you need to techniques, perspective, drawing and more. Newton is a self-taught artist, who now tutors others. The paintings are admirable. William shows how to create landscapes with a limited palettes of only four colours and gives three examples. He also looks at that difficult colour green. There are six detailed, step by step projects covering a variety of subjects: architecture, landscape, still life and portraiture. Plenty of step by step photos and images of finished work illustrate this handsome book.
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I bought this for my husband as he has recently started watercolour painting. He reports that it has been extremely useful for him at his beginner's stage, but it has techniques and tips to help as he progresses. Highly recommended.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Guides to help with watercolour painting are often similar , but Mr. Newton is helpful , the illustrations are particularly good and well produced. I would have no hesitation in recommending this book , thank you
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I am sure that one of the things that leads you to buy a book on teaching watercolour or oils is whether or not the author's own painting style appeals to you. William Newton's did and I find myself with one of the best books on watercolour painting that I have read for years.
Rather than repeat the other reviewers description of the contents, suffice to say that the book has really revitalised my interest in watercolour painting.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Excellent practical book. Easy to follow instructions with detailed pictures.
Worth reading and trying to develop your own style.
Good subject matter to inspire you.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
William Newton produces books with the instruction needed to produce the paintings that he exhibits. His text is clear and he doesn't ask that readers spend a great deal if money on preparing themselves to paint
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Lovely book, excellent artist, I went to his classes and he is a fantastic teacher.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Watch Classes on Your Own Schedule. Enroll Today to get Started.
  -  
Sunglasses that are more than meets the eye. Worldwide shipping!