Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC Book 114) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £1.80 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Wild Strawberries: A Vira... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) Paperback – 22 Nov 2012


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.19
£2.19 £0.01

Trade In Promotion


Frequently Bought Together

Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) + High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) + Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC)
Price For All Three: £20.77

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Virago (22 Nov. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1844088847
  • ISBN-13: 978-1844088843
  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 13.3 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 112,952 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Angela Thirkell (1890-1961) wrote many works of fiction and non-fiction, including twenty-nine 'Barsetshire' novels, which won her great popularity and acclaim. The first of these, High Rising, was published in 1933. Her relatives included Edward Burne-Jones, Rudyard Kipling and Stanley Baldwin, and her godfather was JM Barrie. She was twice married and had four children.

Product Description

Review

Charming, very funny indeed. Angela Thirkell is perhaps the most Pym-like of any twentieth-century author, after Pym herself (Alexander McCall Smith)

If you like Nancy Mitford you'll love this (Elle Decoration)

A witty romantic comedy and a warm and inviting piece of social satire from this sharply observant and popular writer (Good Book Guide)

Charming, very funny indeed. Angela Thirkell is perhaps the most Pym-like of any twentieth-century author, after Pym herself. (Alexander McCall Smith)

Appealing. (Glasgow Sunday Herald)

Book Description

A sparkling 1930s English romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson, Angela Thirkell's classic Wild Strawberries is now available as a Virago Modern Classic.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Carol C. Stone on 29 Dec. 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This fluffy 1930's vintage tale of gentry and village life in a mythical England before WWII is a delightful and witty enterprise with an ending that almost demands a stage production. Mrs. Thirkell's verbal expertise is dazzling and her almost-snide observations on the absurdities of many of her characters leave the reader amused. Mrs. Thirkell is a social historian who exhibits many of the social activities and structures of the period, but also gently mocks those same structures and activities. The sly satire is often missed under the fluff of the tale.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Rose on 8 Dec. 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I love the lost world of Angela Thirkell, it's so amusing.
Some readers find the books very snobbish but I've enjoyed the irony just great.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Disappointing. Won't be reading any more books by this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Joan C on 21 Oct. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Not at all snobbish, just a light, amusing, well written book about the lost world of the 30's in upper middle class England - long gone and impossible to return. Never meant to be taken seriously, just gentle entertainment. If you need a book to snuggle up with on a wet cold day, this is a pleasure. You wont fall in love with any of the characters, but you wont hate them, either. Like a bowl of creamy porridge, or a risotto (for the more sophisticated.)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Susan Lee on 7 Oct. 2014
Format: Paperback
30's nostalgia, a gentle enjoyment.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful By delia shephard on 5 Dec. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Entertaining and witty novel - Angela Thirkell is a new discovery for me and her distinctive and modern voice is a delight.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. A. C. Hussey on 19 Feb. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Great fun for Angela Thirkell fans.Wry look at prewar England & the upper classes and their relationship with their servants.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful By C. Nicholls on 2 Feb. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I downloaded this at a friends' recommendation while I was snowed in and the house was unhealthily cold. WS was the perfect tonic for that situation and of course with the kindle (Fire HD, recently purchased) I could read it under the covers. 'Wild Strawberries' is dated froth but enjoyable; I don't think I'll bother with any other Thirkell's, however ... unless I'm snowed up again. The Virago cover illustration and design is enchanting.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback