Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC Book 114) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: £2.80

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC Book 114) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) [Paperback]

Angela Thirkell , Alexander McCall Smith
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
RRP: £8.99
Price: £7.19 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
You Save: £1.80 (20%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 1 Nov.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £5.99  
Paperback £7.19  

Book Description

22 Nov 2012 1844088847 978-1844088843
Pretty, impecunious Mary Preston, newly arrived as a guest of her Aunt Agnes at the magnificent wooded estate of Rushwater, falls head over heels for handsome playboy David Leslie. Meanwhile, Agnes and her mother, the eccentric matriarch Lady Emily, have hopes of a different, more suitable match for Mary. At the lavish Rushwater dance party, her future happiness hangs in the balance . . .

Frequently Bought Together

Wild Strawberries: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) + High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC) + Christmas at High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (VMC)
Price For All Three: £20.77

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Virago (22 Nov 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1844088847
  • ISBN-13: 978-1844088843
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 1.9 x 19.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 134,652 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Angela Thirkell (1890-1961) wrote many works of fiction and non-fiction, including twenty-nine 'Barsetshire' novels, which won her great popularity and acclaim. The first of these, High Rising, was published in 1933. Her relatives included Edward Burne-Jones, Rudyard Kipling and Stanley Baldwin, and her godfather was JM Barrie. She was twice married and had four children.

Product Description

Review

Charming, very funny indeed. Angela Thirkell is perhaps the most Pym-like of any twentieth-century author, after Pym herself (Alexander McCall Smith)

If you like Nancy Mitford you'll love this (Elle Decoration)

A witty romantic comedy and a warm and inviting piece of social satire from this sharply observant and popular writer (Good Book Guide)

Charming, very funny indeed. Angela Thirkell is perhaps the most Pym-like of any twentieth-century author, after Pym herself. (Alexander McCall Smith)

Appealing. (Glasgow Sunday Herald)

Book Description

A sparkling 1930s English romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson, Angela Thirkell's classic Wild Strawberries is now available as a Virago Modern Classic.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could be beautifully staged 29 Dec 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This fluffy 1930's vintage tale of gentry and village life in a mythical England before WWII is a delightful and witty enterprise with an ending that almost demands a stage production. Mrs. Thirkell's verbal expertise is dazzling and her almost-snide observations on the absurdities of many of her characters leave the reader amused. Mrs. Thirkell is a social historian who exhibits many of the social activities and structures of the period, but also gently mocks those same structures and activities. The sly satire is often missed under the fluff of the tale.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage 8 Dec 2012
By Rose
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I love the lost world of Angela Thirkell, it's so amusing.
Some readers find the books very snobbish but I've enjoyed the irony just great.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfort reading 21 Oct 2013
By Joan C
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Not at all snobbish, just a light, amusing, well written book about the lost world of the 30's in upper middle class England - long gone and impossible to return. Never meant to be taken seriously, just gentle entertainment. If you need a book to snuggle up with on a wet cold day, this is a pleasure. You wont fall in love with any of the characters, but you wont hate them, either. Like a bowl of creamy porridge, or a risotto (for the more sophisticated.)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars a gentle enjoyment. 7 Oct 2014
Format:Paperback
30's nostalgia, a gentle enjoyment.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Period Piece 5 Dec 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Entertaining and witty novel - Angela Thirkell is a new discovery for me and her distinctive and modern voice is a delight.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angela Thirkell's Wild Srawberries 19 Feb 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Great fun for Angela Thirkell fans.Wry look at prewar England & the upper classes and their relationship with their servants.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Light, enjoyable, forgettable 2 Feb 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I downloaded this at a friends' recommendation while I was snowed in and the house was unhealthily cold. WS was the perfect tonic for that situation and of course with the kindle (Fire HD, recently purchased) I could read it under the covers. 'Wild Strawberries' is dated froth but enjoyable; I don't think I'll bother with any other Thirkell's, however ... unless I'm snowed up again. The Virago cover illustration and design is enchanting.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and charming 5 Aug 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Angela Thirkell is never going to be hailed as a great novelist — she took up writing only to support herself and her family — but at her best she is a very enjoyable one, and this is probably her best book. Yes, it's about an upper-class family in the 1930's, and if (like a few reviewers) you can only relate to contemporary tales of the proletariat, then you'll not enjoy it. But, if you can accept that the past is a foreign country and they do things differently, then it's great fun.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars This could be the first of more stories by Angela,
I love Angela Thirkell, and this is the first about the characters living in Barsetshire (after Trollope). Dated, yes, but charming and amusing.
Published 3 months ago by c manners
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Old-fashioned
Published 3 months ago by Bill
5.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING READING
I HAVE ONLY JUST BEGUN READING ANGELA THIRKELL BOOKS, AND I FIND THEM INFORMATIVE, INTERESTING READING FROM AN EARLIER PERIOD IN LIFE. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Mrs. V. Jeffery
2.0 out of 5 stars Vicars and servants
Angela Thirkell is a frustrating novelist. Some of her books are as light as air, others are dated and heavy. This is a soufflé that hasn't risen. It's very stilted. Read more
Published 8 months ago by T. Bently
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem!
Angela Thirkell writes delicious period piece books of everyday life amongst the upper middle class that are just a joy to read - quite tongue in cheek and very clever but very... Read more
Published 13 months ago by Mrs Marcella Marcus
1.0 out of 5 stars shouldn't have been published
This is definitely one best left getting dusty in the back catalogue. Completely lacking in humour - what was AMS thinking! Read more
Published 14 months ago by ready reader
5.0 out of 5 stars My review of Wild Strawberries by Angela Thirkell
I had heard a lot about Angela Thirkell from my wife who had read some of her books back in the 1950s. Read more
Published 20 months ago by Ian Davidson
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback