Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£6.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2009
read this book withing a few hours of recieving it, was really looking forward to it, what a disappointment! there is 4 pages of illustrations, of the more common variety of flower or herb, but that's it! certainly not enough detail in the descriptions for anyone to be able to recognise the wild food being written about. No one could take this out on a country walk and pick anything from the brief descriptions in this book! Buy instead "food for free" a great little book with illustrations on every page opposite a description and usuage info, cheaper too!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
I have wanted to learn more about foraging for a long time, I often listen to my father's tales of growing up in rural Ireland and how he would find a bit of food to eat in the wild when he was hungry an art that we have lost due to the ease of stocking up with snacks from the supermarket. I want to teach my daughter that food can be found all over the place and can be quite delicious. This book is perfect for just this purpose. My one gripe would be that it could do with a better array of images to help me find the good wild food and maybe a section on what to avoid, again with images.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
Great for a beginner , hardback and small size encourages pocketing out on walks and also text encourages to make it into routine , which we humans love . Dropped a star only because I like detailed pictures or drawings with the descriptions . Feel competant to move onto a bigger book now !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
I'm unsure why the seaweed collection was included. A true forager would never use a string bag for seawater to drip over car seats...laver is a slow food and needs to be simmered for hours before it can be made into laver bread. The toddlers and cockles nursery rhyme for identification purposes beggars belief and a closed cockle that isn't buried can still be eaten ....I could go on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
This is a handy bag sized book, but it woud benefit more pictures/photos to aid with identifying plants. It would suit those who know the difference between an elm and a lime, without having to ask a school child. i'm afraid it's been a long time since i was at school and therefore, can only tell the obvious ones apart, LOL!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Often there is a lot of free food just for the taking, but you need to know where to look and just be a little careful what you take. A book like this might be your guide on the ground.

This slim volume looks (from a British perspective) at many of the things that could be found whilst walking through the countryside and gives you some ideas as how they might be used. Whether it is fruit, flowers, seaweed or even roadkill, there might be something for everybody even if one might be squeamish at first thought to some of the recipes or more precisely the ingredients used. Not everything is good for you, however, and the author attempts to show what can be safely picked and eaten and what is best left well alone.

For a book of this kind it is essential that there are clear photographs of everything you might be considering as a food source. And even more essential are photographs of the things you should keep away from. This is a strange oversight with this book and inexcusable with it being an ebook where there is no expensive printing processes or costs to factor in. There are a few illustration-type images clumped together but they really should be alongside each and every ingredient. The design and internal signposting of this book also leaves a bit to be desired. More work could have been undertaken here!

Fortunately the low price of this book comes to be its saviour. But even with that said it is a bit disappointing as it has the capability of being a really good little resource. As it is, it feels that one is fighting against the book and when there are many other books of a similar kind available the prospective reader's loyalty is not to be assumed. If you can get a more accessible, well-designed and illustrated book for just a few pounds more, why would you necessarily want to struggle with this one, even though the content IS good?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
This book makes a great reference to take on a day out. Even if your not out to pick the food, its interesting to go and learn something whilst walking. Only small but right size to pop into your pocket.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
I've only had this book for a couple of months but have already used two of the recipes. Absolutely fantastic. And so much fun too. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
This is an excellent NT publication. Beautifully written and illustrated. Lots of ideas for foraging, and using wild foods in recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
My own fault, not what I expected. I'll get into it sometime but set aside just now. Service/delivery was perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.