• RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.75 (25%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events) Paperback – 3 Sep 2012

Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
£2.02 £1.39

Frequently Bought Together

The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events) + The Miserable Mill (A Series of Unfortunate Events) + The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events)
Price For All Three: £15.72

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Egmont (3 Sep 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1405266082
  • ISBN-13: 978-1405266086
  • Product Dimensions: 18.3 x 13.2 x 1.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 40,513 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Lemony Snicket was born before you were and is likely to die before you as well. He was born in a small town where the inhabitants were suspicious and prone to riot. He grew up near the sea and currently lives beneath it. Until recently, he was living somewhere else.

Mr Snicket first received his education from public schools and private tutors, and then vice versa. Early in life, he learned to reupholster furniture, a skill that turned out to be far more important than anyone imagined. He has been hailed as a brilliant scholar, discredited as a brilliant fraud and mistaken for a much taller man on several occasions.
A studied expert in rhetorical analysis, Mr Snicket has spent the last several eras researching the travails of the Baudelaire orphans. During his spare time, he gathers evidence and is considered something of an expert by leading authorities. Recently, he had to give up his hobbies due to laws regarding musical performances in mountainous terrain.

Lemony Snicket published his first book in 1999 and has not had a good night's sleep since. Mr Snicket is the author of quite a few books, all dreadful, and has been falsely accused of many crimes, all falsely. Once the recipient of several distinguished rewards, he is now an escapee of several indistinguishable prisons. He is widely regarded as one of the most difficult children's authors to capture and imprison. There are thirteen books in the A Series of Unfortunate Events, which should be avoided at all costs.

To his horror and dismay, he has no wife or children, only enemies, associates, and the occasional loyal manservant. Lemony Snicket's extended family, if they were alive, would describe him as a distinguished scholar, an amateur connoisseur, and an outright gentleman. Unfortunately this description has been challenged of late, but Egmont Press continues to support his research and writing on the lives of the Baudelaire orphans. As he continues with his investigation, interest in the Baudelaire case has increased. So has his horror.

Until recently, he was presumed to be 'presumed dead'. Instead, this 'presumed' presumption wasn't disproved not to be incorrect. Most things written about him are not true, but this is. More miserable news about Mr Snicket and his dreadful books can be found at www.unfortunateevents.com.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Although still fantastically gothic, this story lost a star due to the fact that its structure was almost exactly the same as The Reptile Room. This was somewhat unfortunate, as it it made it pretty obvious where the plot was heading from the word go.

However, the Orphans are as likable as ever and Snicket's wonderful writing style will still not cease to amuse the reader. It is certainly never dull!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
The third book in the series maintains the quality of the second, better than book one. In The Wide Window, the trio of unlucky siblings are sent to live with a distant relative in a house overlooking a lake, and to hide from the ever-present Count Olaf, who is out to steal their fortune.

A quick read that took just three sittings, and was reasonably enjoyable. It seems the perfect tone of narrative for reading aloud to a child, but the content is more appropriate for a slightly older child who can read for themselves - it's a narrow target between those two age-ranges that I'm not sure the book quite hits.

The series has become repetitive, predictable, and a little annoying by this point, and I have no real desire to keep reading - but I can see that for some people this may be just what you're looking for.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers


Look for similar items by category