Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars12
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 February 2006
Origins is an odd addition to Cate Tiernan's riveting series about a teenager discovering Wicca. It's the tenth book in the series and is only the second installment to move away from the perspective of main character, blood witch, Morgan Rowlands.
Morgan has had an explosive three months; she fell in love for the first time with powerful witch Cal Blair who betrayed her for his and his mother's own dark magickal purposes, she discovered that she was adopted and that her biological parents were powerful hereditary witches known as blood witches, who were murdered in a fire. Amidst all of this Morgan forms a new relationship with British witch Hunter Niall her soulmate and tries to harnass her natural powers against those who would harm her.
One of the many reasons that made the Wicca series so readable was the strong link between the reader and Morgan and the unrelenting pace as events unfold. This is were Origins begins to suffer- aside from the prologue and epilogue Morgan and the regular cast are largely absent. Instead Morgan sits down to read a distant ancestors Book of Shadows and the narrative is we plunged back in time to 17th century Scotland and told from Woodebane ancestor Rose MacEwan's point of view.
In context of the series the narrative is interesting in that the reader begins to understand how and why the dark wave of magic that wiped out many covens of witches was created. However, I couldn't help but feel cheated when I got this installment initially I wanted more of Morgan and Hunter's lives and this felt a wee bit like Tiernan was stalling us. This installment isn't as well written as the others and would have been better left in an anthology to accompany the series. The time period seems slightly off with very little supporting details to authenticate it and the main love plot between Diarmuid and Rose is slight and lacks the passion and subtlety present in the contemporary books.
Truthfully you could skip this installment and not miss too much, luckily the next book returns to the normal formula and is all the better for it. Three stars because this is a borrow from the library title whereas the rest of this compelling series is most definitely one that you need to own.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2003
I really love Cate Tiernan's Wicca books, and this one was no exception. At the beggining it started out a bit boring, but as you got into the book, you started to understand the characters and flow with the storyline more.
It was great how there was romance, evil and magic all linked into one, it made it very tense and interesting to read. I was shocked at the end to find out about what the main character was like (Rose) and what she did, it left me thinking about it for days afterwoods. I must admit that it wasn't quite up to the standard of her other books but it is still definately worth a read. Heres a tip for anyone who is going to or is reading this book, DON'T give up, after the first few chapters it starts to get better, so give it a chance and you never know, you may be suprised! *~*Han*~*
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
Book eleven in the Wicca/Sweep series by Cate Tiernan. It's an interesting story that tells the tale of Rose, Morgan's ancestor. Morgan is usually the focus so this (and the previous one about Hunter) makes a nice change and keeps her novels fresh.

A lot of the Witches information is correct, for example some of the words used and the herb, stone, sabbat lore. There was less "supernatural" lore which made it seem more believable than some of the previous ones in the series.

A lot about the male lead was dodgy however. She only got him through a spell it seemed. She was not claiming him as he was hers, but stealing him from the first. I'm glad he turned out the way he did at the end though, it created more sympathy for Rose.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
In 1682 Rose MacEwan lived in dangerous times, more so because she was a witch. The daughter of her coven's High Priestess, Rose always felt that she was being held back from her magick by her mother. So when Rose meets the mischevious Diarmuid in the woods, she seizes the opportunity to work greater more powerful magick. But Rose's choices have consequences even she could never have predicted.

This is the eleventh book in the Wicca series (which began with Book of Shadows) and again is from a perspective other than Morgan's. In this installment, Morgan's ancestor Rose narrates the tale of the creation of the dark wave. Morgan and Hunter appear briefly in the prologue and epilogue but otherwise the entire book is given over to Rose's story.

The movement of the story to seventeenth century Scotland is an interesting choice. I enjoyed the opportunity to discover how and why the dark wave was created, and the circumstances fit well with the morality issues raised in previous installments. However, I didn't really warm to Rose as a character and the pace of the book is quite a lot slower than before. To this point the rest of the series is set over around four months, whilst this book is set over the course of almost a year. This means that a lot of the tension depends on the witch hysteria rather than Rose herself.

The romance angle between Rose and Diarmuid was also a little disappointing as she uses magick to capture his attention which always makes the relationship seem unbalanced. Rose's determination to maintain their connection is understandable but I have to say I wasn't really surprised when Diarmuid's true intentions are revealed.

All in all this was an interesting read and I'm looking forward to Eclipse.

Plot: 8/10
Characters: 8/10
Ending: 9/10
Enjoyment: 8/10
Cover: 9/10

Overall: 42/50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
All 15 books in this series are fantasic, once you pick them up you won't want to put them down until you have read every last one. I recommended them to my husbands younger sister (she is 12) and a very 'reluctant reader'. Upon reading the first one she was hooked and sped through the rest of the series in a matter of weeks.

This instalment is the story of one of Morgan's ancestors 'Rose McEwan' the creator of the first dark wave. It is told within the frame of the main ongoing plot of the series. I felt that this book was lacking in excitement compared to the others, and although an interesting sub-plot idea was not really necissary to the main plotline.

These books on the whole portray an accurate depiction as what being wiccan is about. There is abviously some artisic license, as what work of fiction would be complete without it. I myself have lived as a practicing witch for 9 years and found the descriptions of the festivals ect to be very accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2003
Well, what to say. After reading all the other Wicca books out there,i frankly had to say i was slightly disappointed. The book which carried on the life story of 17-yearold Morgan Rowlands, usually really influences and affects me as Morgan always seems very real with real emotions and problems. The thing about this book though is the fact there is evry little about Morgan herself and her soulmate/boyfriend Hunter Niall. Now i wasn't expecting everything to be resolved in this book, such as the council betraying Hunter or Morgan meeting Hunter's father, but when i found out that only the first chapter and the epilogue ( consisting of maybe 10 pages ) was about Morgans life i felt almost betrayed. Now i may be overreacting but after hoping and longing for the 11th book to come out i was a bit taken aback by the story of Morgan's ancestor within this story.
Not to discredit Cate tiernan though, the book was still very well written and contained somevery powerful feelings like Rose's anger at her soulmate Dairmuid's betrayl.
I would maybe like to make a suggestion though that this book, which contained a lot of information needed for the next books, should be retitled to become book ten-B as i still felt that there wasnt really enough to credit another book without using more about Hunter and Morgan.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
This book is ace, a fantastic read, a definate book that must be read. One of the best on the Wicca/Sweep series by Cate Tiernan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Brilliant book, thouroly enjoy them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
When I stsrted reading this series I thought it was quite interesting and well written. However as it wore on this series just became duller and duller. This story(which I did not bother buying but read in the bookshop) is o.k, but nothing speciasl. If you do want to read the entire series than borrow or get the book second hand as it is not worth the full price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.