Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now
Customer Discussions > The God Delusion forum

Why do you not believe in 'God'.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 26-50 of 87 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 22 Aug 2008 20:16:12 BDT
Last edited by the author on 22 Aug 2008 20:29:51 BDT
David Groom says:
Andrew Macleod wrote:

'David Groom wrote that he expects as education increases, it will eventually become "ludicrous or backward to believe in religion". Christianity has been a driving force for education in Britain for hundreds of years! Most of my Christian friends have university degrees. (I am a science teacher). Most of my fellow church members read and study the bible, and other books on theology, science, philosophy, psychology... and other disciplines too! You're view of Christians is naive.'

A couple of points. Firstly I am referring to all religions, not just Christianity and for the reasons below, I stand completely behind my view that religion is doomed in the long term. Secondly, Christianity may have been a driving force for education (debatable, depending on your point of view), but this doesn't mean that it cannot be eclipsed by enlightenment and thus sow the seeds of its own destruction.