Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£15.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2014
If you have ME"cfs", Fibromyalgia, ALS, MS or are undiagnosed with serious physical and mental fatigue, pain and/or neurological symptoms and tired of going from doctor to doctor looking for an answer, GET THIS BOOK! Sorry to shout, but this is very important.

I have been sick for 12 years with an ME"cfs" diagnosis. Only two years ago did I find out the CDC's recommended test, which they and the Infectious Disease Society of America claim is 100% accurate (sensitive and specific) is actually only 40 - 60% accurate (depending on the study). I then did an Igenex PCR test, which is much better (but not 100% accurate either- but at least they admit it), which CDC and IDSA warn against. Thanks to the Igenex test, I found out I have Lyme Disease. And thanks to Medicare, which pays for this expensive test, because they deem it "medically necessary."

There are an estimated 1 Million people in the United States that contract Lyme each year, but most are not diagnosed. Many are misdiagnosed with the above-listed diseases. This is a huge epidemic. It is also a significant and growing problem in the UK.

Dr. Horowitz's book is fun to read (for a medical book) and tells you what you need to know to get diagnosed and begin healing. Dr. Horowitz is recognized as the top Lyme doc in the world and this is his first and only book. Just released recently, it is up to date.

Oh yeah, also get this book if you know you have Lyme! :)

Enjoy and happy healing everyone!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
Incredibly helpful book for those navigating the shark-infested waters of Lyme Disease and co-infections. Have even given one to my doctor. Here are answers that are hard to find and put together from reading all over about Lyme and co., with the benefit that he has treated thousands of patients so this info can be trusted. Should be read by all doctors in my opinion!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
A privilege to read of the approaches and view points of someone who is so experienced in helping people with chronic illness. Horowitz acknowledges and incorporates all of the many factors that impact on health and well-being and gives detail on how to work through these to make differential diagnoses, making for a real integrated approach that's sadly so rare from medically trained professionals. He describes his improved outcomes and rationale for using various combinations of antibiotics for lymes and co-infections. As well as being well referenced to support what he says, his own clinical experiences are really valuable, as he has treated well over 10,000 patients with such illness modifying and expanding his approach over the years to do his best for each of these individuals. I also really valued his objective opinions, based on his clinical experience rather than dogma, on many of the non-pharmaceutical approaches to lymes.

The book might be a little too medical for the novice but many people with chronic illness have done years of their own research and will have no problem. I think he's balanced the over- and under-explaining well and strongly recommend the book to health professionals with a genuine interest in helping their chronically ill patients, as well as to the interested layperson.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Useful for patients and physicians. Packed full of information. I have Lyme Disease /Neuroborreliosis previously undiagnosed for over 30 years and have found it invaluable to help me on my journey to healing where the NHS has neglected me. Also good resource for those with ME ,CFS, Fibromyalgia, MS, ALS, POTS/ANS and any undiagnosed health problems affecting multiple areas of the body.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
One of the best books ever to explain the mysteries about Lyme and co-infections.
The medical world should read and learn from this in order to save 100,000's of patients from life long suffering
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Good information in an easy to read format. Tends to be a bit repetitive but otherwise excellent. Good drug regime advice. Useful references.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
All those who have been constantly fobbed off by the medical profession should read this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
If you have ME"cfs", Fibromyalgia, ALS, MS or are undiagnosed with serious physical and mental fatigue, pain and/or neurological symptoms and tired of going from doctor to doctor looking for an answer, GET THIS BOOK! Sorry to shout, but this is very important.

I have been sick for 12 years with an ME"cfs" diagnosis. Only two years ago did I find out the CDC's recommended test, which they and the Infectious Disease Society of America claim is 100% accurate (sensitive and specific) is actually only 40 - 60% accurate (depending on the study). I then did an Igenex PCR test, which is much better (but not 100% accurate either- but at least they admit it), which CDC and IDSA warn against. Thanks to the Igenex test, I found out I have Lyme Disease. And thanks to Medicare, which pays for this expensive test, because they deem it "medically necessary."

There are an estimated 1 Million people in the United States that contract Lyme each year, but most are not diagnosed. Many are misdiagnosed with the above-listed diseases. This is a huge epidemic.

Dr. Horowitz's book is fun to read (for a medical book) and tells you what you need to know to get diagnosed and begin healing. Dr. Horowitz is recognized as the top Lyme doc in the world and this is his first and only book. Just released recently, it is up to date.

Oh yeah, also get this book if you know you have Lyme! :)

Enjoy and happy healing everyone!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Very difficult to understand and follow. Written in medical terms with lots of references. Wouldn't have been able to follow any treatments as I was unable to understand the medical language.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Thank you Dr. Horowitz!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)