Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower? and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £0.01
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Who Touched Base in my Th... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Trade in your item
Get a £0.34
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon Hardcover – 31 Oct 2013


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£9.98
£3.73 £1.99
£9.98 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon + The Little Book of Management Bollocks
Price For Both: £13.97

Buy the selected items together


Trade In this Item for up to £0.34
Trade in Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £0.34, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Sceptre (31 Oct. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444781847
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444781847
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.2 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (41 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 82,326 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Steven Poole is the author of Unspeak, Trigger Happy, and You Aren't What You Eat. He was born in London, and writes for various publications including the Guardian, the New Statesman, the Times Literary Supplement, and Edge. More information at http://stevenpoole.net

Product Description

Book Description

A hilarious compendium, for fans of The Office and Eats, Shoots and Leaves, that rails against something that drives us all utterly mad: office jargon.

About the Author

Steven Poole is the author of the books You Aren't What You Eat, Unspeak, and Trigger Happy and a journalist, cultural critic, broadcaster, and composer for documentaries and short films, including the award-winning EVOL. He writes for the Guardian, Edge, the New Statesman and the Times Literary Supplement.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful By Red on Black TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 1 Nov. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Steven Poole has performed a valuable function here. Ever since the invention of "bullsxxt bingo" there has been encouraging signs of a fight back against the utterly nonsensical language spoken by modern managers who make David Brent look like an intellectual giant. Your reviewer was once genuinely told by a senior colleague to "bottom out your thinking, and get those ideas up on the table and run with them". Having pointed out that this could be physically dangerous he muttered something about "inherent black thought negativity". What is surprising is how normally intelligent people think that spouting this verbal diarrhoea somehow makes them more sophisticated and managerially "cutting edge". Stephen Poole takes a very big needle and bursts this bubble in this humorous book "Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon". It is essentially a trove of the spirit sapping indignities of modern office life and its stultifying vocabulary. Indeed the growing problem is that this type of language is starting to seep out of the office into everyday life with phrases from the pseudoscience of management theory littering broadcasting, charity funding and even sport. Ironically much of the source material for this guff is picked from these settings in the first place particularly the military. Thus " Strategy", "on my radar" and , "push the envelope". Others like "close of play" or the increasingly used "Deep Dive" are taken from sport where of course they specific meaning that made sense in that context.Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jet Lagged TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 15 Jan. 2015
Format: Hardcover
After running it up the flagpole to see who saluted it, we all touched base on this one. Now that we were all on the same page, singing from the same hymn sheet, we were all in the same ballpark.

So at this point in time, going forward, we are dealing with a big picture issue that calls for some blue sky thinking and for staff to flatten the authority gradient. Actioning the offline synergies will involve going on an empowering journey to circle the wagons.

We, erm, erm...... Sorry, what was the question again?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By CJman on 9 May 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I spent 25 years working as a manager in one of the larger companies in the UK and as I got older I became increasingly irritated by people who felt compelled to use the latest buzz words or jargon without actually making sense. As time went on I found myself playing conference lingo bingo instead of 'getting on message'. If you find people who are always on a 'journey' 'going forward' incredibly annoying you'll love this compendium of management bollocks.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Blake's Seven Fan on 25 Jan. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
A present for the office Secret Santa that went down a treat - my manager kept asking everyone who got it for her until they told her, apparently she loved it! One for people who use office jargon and have a sense of humour about it :D
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Tomasz K. on 2 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I love this book and keep it in my desk drawer to have it at hand.
Helps me to understand better my work mates who believe that using plenty of jargon makes them sound more professional.
For me the effect is opposite.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Half Man, Half Book on 2 Sept. 2014
Format: Paperback
This book is for all those who have had to sit through a meeting where some management whizz kid is spouting forth the latest acronyms and buzz words and not only do you have no idea what he is talking about, but you are not sure if he is even referring the the same things that you are.

Poole has taken the brave step of listing these words, and trying to make some sense of their meaning, which frankly in some cases there isn't any sense behind them. A number of them are borrowed from military vernacular, and as you can imagine make the transfer to the language of a middle ranking executive dealing with stationary...

He has written it with a healthy dollop of cynicism, and really does not hold back on the sarcasm either! There are some laugh out loud moments too.

Next time a road warrior gives you a cold eye view and asks you to hit the ground running you might, just might, know what he is talking about.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Craig on 10 Dec. 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Not laugh out loud funny but certainly raises a smile especially when your manager next speaks or sends an email!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Gemma Wickert on 20 Jan. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book has brightened up my commute, with hilarious examples of the random things your hear at work. I've had to stop myself laughing out loud too many times whilst reading it on the train, in fear of looking mental.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback